BHS cheerleaders honored at banquet

Published 9:34 am Friday, December 7, 2012

Award winners are Kay Bush (Varsity Coach’s Award), Takahri Murphy (Bearcat Pride Award) and Kaitlynn Powell (JV Coach’s Award).


Special to The Post-Searchlight

The BHS Cheerleaders wrapped up their 2012 season on Monday, Dec. 3, with a year-end Banquet held at First Presbyterian Church.

Email newsletter signup

Head Coach Lea Hawkins thanked the 24-member squad for their hard work and dedication, which enabled the team to overcome many injuries during the season. She also praised the group for placing fourth in the 5-AAAAA Region, enabling Bainbridge High School to compete at the Georgia GHSA Sectional Cheer Competition, which was held in Columbus, Ga., on November 8. BHS Cheerleaders have not advanced to the state competition since 1996.

Special recognition for the 2012 season was given Kaitlynn Powell (JV Coach’s Award), Kay Bush (Varsity Coach’s Award), and Takahri Murphy (Bearcat Pride Award). Sharon and Dennis Day were on hand to present the Jamie Day Memorial Award to Senior Jalyn Harrison. The Jamie Day Award is the highest award given to a BHS cheerleader. The award, first presented in 2001, was established in memory of Sharon and Dennis Day’s 15-year-old daughter Jamie, who died after losing a battle with cancer.

Other recognition for serving as 2012 team captains was given to Maddie McIntosh (Varsity Captain), Jalyn Harrison (Varsity Co-Captain), Haylie Wilkinson (JV Captain), and Sage Long (JV Co-Captain). The BHS Cheer Boosters presented the Stadium Banners to graduating seniors — Maddie McIntosh, Jalyn Harrison, and Erin Kirkus. The cheerleaders thanked their three coaches by recounting their most memorable moments of the year.

Special thanks was also given to Amanda Henderson — BHS JV Cheer Coach Assistant, Jessie Hawkins — BHS Competition Community Cheer Coach, Phil Long — 2012 President of the BHS Touchdown Club, Stan Killough — BHS Athletic Director, and Peter Mayfield — BHS Athletic Trainer.

Award winners are Kay Bush (Varsity Coach’s Award), Takahri Murphy (Bearcat Pride Award) and Kaitlynn Powell (JV Coach’s Award).


The 2012-2013 Bainbridge High School competition cheerleaders had a successful, spirit-filled year, as they placed fourth in the region and participated in the state competition for the first time since the mid 1990s.