Member guest champions crowned

Published 4:02 pm Thursday, June 16, 2011

Four two-man teams were crowned champions at last Saturday and Sunday’s annual member guest golf tournament at Bainbridge Country Club.

Par for the two-day, 36-hole event was 144.

There were two championship flights. In the first, Jim Higdon and Martin Hackney won with a round of 128. Second through fourth places went to three teams, which tied for second before tie-breakers, with rounds of 130.

Email newsletter signup

Taking second through fourth were Billy Howell and Steve Chambliss, Eddie Jordan and Jamie Allen, and Ryan Giddens and Dale Tyre.

The second championship flight was won by Sean Hader and Robert Turner with a round of 140. Charlie Bowles and Rusty Spivey were second with a round of 141.

The teams of Glenn Heard and Tom Griffin, and Banks Miller and Abe Varner tied for third with rounds of 143. After the tie-breakers, Heard and Griffin were awarded third, and Miller and Varner were awarded fourth.

There were also two other regular flights, one of which ended in a three-way tie, with each team shooting rounds of 134.

After the tie-breaker, the team of Thad Pettyjohn and Stephen McRae was first, the team of Peyton Dixon and David Pemberton was second and the team of Paxton Poitevint and Matt Clayton was third.

The second regular flight was won by Warren Oquinn and Charlie Jackson with a round of 147. David Donalson and Jason Heard were second with a round of 153, and Joe Battles and Andy Hay were third with a round of 158.