Bearcats qualify well for region finals

Published 6:15 pm Friday, April 22, 2011

The Bainbridge High School boys’ track team qualified more participants in more events than any other school for next Tuesday’s Region 1AAAA Meet at Albany’s Hugh Mills Memorial Stadium track.

The qualifying took place Thursday in Albany at the region’s preliminary meet. The top eight finishing relay teams and individuals qualified for the region finals.

The BHS boys track team are the defending Region 1-AAAA and State Class AAAA track champions. The boys’ state track meet will be held May 5-7 in Jefferson, Ga.

Email newsletter signup

Coach Tandria Phillips’ Lady Cats will compete in the Region 1AAAA preliminaries April 27 and the Region 1AAAA finals on May 3. The girls’ state meet will be held May 12-14 in Albany, Ga.

Samuels won the 200-meter run in a time of 22.13 seconds and the 100-meter dash in a time of 10.88 seconds.

Samuels also ran the second leg on the champion 4-by-100-meter relay team that won in a time of 42.96. He was the third leg on the champion 4-by-400-meter relay team, that won in a time of 3:28.02.

Terry Lewis took eighth in the 200-meter run in a time of 23.39 seconds.

On the 4-by-100 meter relay team with Samuels were Octavious Scott, Brandon Handsford and Rohan Gaines and on the 4-by-400 meter relay team with him were Octavous Scott, Ryan Edwards and Joseph Ausgood.

Octavious Scott also won the 300-meter hurdles in a time of 39.38 seconds and finished second in the 110-meter hurdles in a time of 15.39 seconds.

Joseph Ausgood was second in the 100-meter run in a time of 2:04.76. Third places were captured by Dontarious Jackson with a 15.57 second 110-meter hurdles time and a 41.36 second 300-meter hurdles time and Ryan Edwards with a 50.15 400-meter time.

A second 4-by-400-meter relay team of Alton Miller, Dontarious Jackson, Romerio Fields and Davis Perkins finished third in a time of 3:34.69.

Alton Miller took fourth in the 400-meter run in a time of 51.22 seconds. Fifth places were captured by Dillen Thomas with a 2:06.21 800-meter run time and Brandon Handsford with a 11.35 second 100-meter run time.