BHS Academic Lettermen named

Published 2:39 pm Thursday, April 21, 2011

2010 BAINBRIDGE HIGH SCHOOL Academic Letterman gather on Thursday at the high school. From the left, front, are Riley Cutchin, Avery Chestnut, Christopher Campbell and Chelsea Kornse; back, Sam Slaughter, Jan Godwin with Memorial Hospital and Manor, Carla Robinson with Park Avenue Bank, Principal Tommie Howell and Will Bius. Not pictured are Elizabeth Hill and Haley Hubbard, who both graduated last year, and Rebeccan Shoeneman.

The Academic Lettering Program at Bainbridge High School was established in 1992 to motivate students to become involved in interscholastic academic activities and to reward students for their efforts in these areas.

Students named as 2010 academic lettermen are Will Bius, Chris Campbell, Avery Chestnut, Riley Cutchin, Elizabeth Hill, Haley Hubbard, Chelsea Kornse, Rebecca Schoeneman and Sam Slaughter.

Students who represent BHS in interscholastic competitions and activities earn points that can lead to a varsity academic letter. Twelve points must be earned in order to receive a letter.

Email newsletter signup

Activities in which points may be earned include Literary Meet, Math Team, Academic Bowl, Science Team, Mock Trial, science fairs, oratorical contests, essay contests, Junior ROTC drill meets, livestock competitions, and other approved individual or team interscholastic academic competitions. Points can be accumulated from year to year, and students who qualify for an academic letter are recognized at Honors Night and are presented a solid purple wool jacket with a gold “B.”

The BHS Academic Lettering Program is supported by Park Avenue Bank and Memorial Hospital and Manor.

Since 1992, more than 350 BHS students have been awarded an academic letter and jacket.