BHS awards athletes for a successful season

Published 4:57 pm Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Back row left to right: Wright Cook, Jaylyn Scott, Zion Mcgee, Roman Harrison, Haydn Griffin, Aaron Lewis, Lance Cosby. Front row: Perry Sweet, T.J. Mims, Vonderious Campbell, Jordan McMullen.

Bainbridge track and field held their annual banquet on Tuesday, May 23, at Jones-Wheat Elementary. The boys and girls of the track team had successful seasons with a lot to honor. Many personal bests and a men’s region championship gave the Bearcats and Lady Cats a lot to celebrate.

Many Lady Cats brought home awards, Destiny Turner won the Top Field Performer Award. Uriah Davis won the Top Distance Runner Award and Cyan Gant won Most Improved.

Iesha Smart won the Senior Plaque and Tyaisha Gant won the High Point Award.

Email newsletter signup

Caitlin Miller brought home the Academic Award and Ty’esha Binyard won the Top Sprinter Award.

The men’s track had a decorated season, placing in most events they competed in and bringing home individual awards every meet.

Perry Sweet brought home the Coaches Award, Vonderious Campbell won the Top Sprinter Award, Zyon McGee won the Top Field in the jumps and Roman Harrison won the Top field in the Throws.  Haydn Griffin won Top Distance Runner.

Wright Cook won the Academic Award, Jaylyn Scott won the High Point Award and Aaron Lewis won Most Improved.

T.J. Mims, Jordan McMullen and Lance Cosby were all honored for being State Qualifiers.