Tuesday is election day, know which ballot to pick

Published 8:36 pm Friday, May 16, 2014

On Election Day, Tuesday, May 20, all precincts in Decatur County will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Voters will have to decide whether to vote on a Democratic or Republican ballot, but can choose this ballot whether or not they have registered for this political party officially. Georgia residents can choose either ballot on Election Day.
This May, local voters will cast votes for local positions such as solicitor general and county commission districts 1,4 and 6 in addition to state-wide races. In non-partisan races, voters will see candidates for Decatur County Board of Education districts 2,4 and 6 as well as post 4 for the town of Brinson.
Ballots will vary based on political party and district, but the following are the candidates listed by political party and position sought.
Individuals can verify their polling location by visiting the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page – www.mvp.sos.ga.gov.  A free mobile app can also be downloaded on the Apple and Android platforms.  Just search for “GA Votes” in the app store.
Georgia Secretary of State Brian Kemp is encouraging Georgians to assist the Agency in preventing election fraud.  The Stop Voter Fraud section of their website can be accessed at http://sos.ga.gov/cgi-bin/EMailStopVoterFraud.asp.  Voters can report suspicious activity on the website or by calling the Stop Voter Fraud Hotline at 877-725-9797.
All voters should bring with them any valid state or federal government issued photo ID.
Types of valid photo ID:

  • A Georgia’s Driver’s License, even if expired
  • Valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. Government, Georgia, or any county, municipality, board, authority or other entity of this state
  • Valid U.S. passport
  • Valid U.S. military photo ID
  • Valid tribal photo ID

The following are the candidates and the ballot on which they will appear:

For solicitor

  • Democratic ballot:

Email newsletter signup

Paul Fryer
Ben Kirbo (incumbent)

  • Republican ballot:

Ryan Cleveland

County Commission District 1:

  • Democratic ballot:

George Anderson
Charles Fitzgerald
Jan Godwin (incumbent)

County Commission District 4:

  • Democratic ballot:

Thomas R. Rusty Davis

  • Republican ballot:

Joe Putnal
Edward “Ted” Snell

County Commission District 6

  • Democratic ballot:

Oliver Sellers (incumbent)
William “Pete” Stephens

The following are non-partisan races:

Decatur County Board of Education District 2:
Keith Lyle

Decatur County Board of Education District 4:
J. Sydney Cochran (incumbent)
John Henry McRae

Decatur County Board of Education District 6:
Jacky L. Grubbs (incumbent)
Marvin Van Thomas

Town of Brinson Post 4:
Tina L. Easterwood
Hardy Powell

The following are state races:

For U.S. Senate

  • Democratic Ballot:

O. Steen Miles
M. Michelle Nunn
Branko “Rad” Radulovacki
Todd Anthony Robinson

  • Republican ballot:

Paul Collins Broun
Arthur A. “Art” Gardner
J.P. Phil Gingrey
Derrick E. Grayson
Karen C. Handel
J.H. Jack Kingston
David Perdue

For Governor

  • Republican ballot:

John D. Barge
J. Nathan Deal (incumbent)
David E. Pennington III

  • Democratic ballot:

Jason J. Carter

For U.S. Rep. 2nd

  • Republican ballot:

Vivian Childs
Gregory P. Greg Duke

  • Democratic ballot:

Sanford D. Bishop (incumbent)

For state Senator 11th District

  • Republican ballot:

K. Dean Burke (incumbent)

State Representative for 171st District

  • Republican ballot:

Alfred Jay Powell Jr. (incumbent)

State Representative for 173rd District

  • Republican ballot:

Darlene Taylor (incumbent)
Don Clark