Rentz named ‘Teacher of the Year’

Published 12:46 pm Friday, September 21, 2012

BEST OF THE BEST: Decatur County School Superintendent Dr. Fred Rayfield presents Amanda Rentz with the system-wide “Teacher of the Year” award Thursday.

Amanda Rentz, a pre-kindergarten teacher at Jones-Wheat Elementary School, was named the 2013-2014 Decatur County School System Teacher of the Year on Thursday night.

Rentz, along with each system school’s teachers of the year, were recognized at the Decatur County Board of Education’s monthly meeting.

Dr. Larry Clark, principal of Jones-Wheat Elementary, said that Rentz, a native of Colquitt, Ga., is a very structured and organized teacher.

Email newsletter signup

“I can assure you that even if Mrs. Rentz was teaching at the high school, that would be no difference in the structure of her class,” Clark said. “She does an excellent job.”

Rentz, who has taught at JWES for five years, earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Valdosta State University. A member of the Decatur County Young Farmers’ organization, Rentz is married to Kevin Rentz.

Julie Warr, a member of the Teacher of the Year selection committee, described the committee’s evaluation of Rentz’s classroom.

“This teacher [Rentz] was very warm, had a caring spirit in the classroom and that was conveyed through her teaching,” Warr said, reading from the evaluation. “She presented much positive praise to her students … her calm demeanor set the tone for a nurturing environment. She has an excitement in her voice that made the children want to learn.”

Each school-level teacher of the year was also recognized during the board meeting.

They are: Denise Bius from Bainbridge High School, Heath Maxwell from Bainbridge Middle School, Chrissy Meuller from Elcan-King Elementary School, Dee Waddell from Hutto Middle School, Amy Waddell from John Johnson Elementary School, Sarah Dollar from Potter Street Elementary School, and Karri Parramore from West Bainbridge Elementary School.