Harrell’s hole in one leads team to victory

Published 11:31 am Tuesday, June 5, 2012

TERESA DIANE YOUNG FOUNDATION Golf Tournament director Tommy Willis and tournament hosts get together with the winning team in Saturday’s first annual Foundation golf tournament. Shown are: front row, left to right, tournament hosts Misty Young, Judy Brown, Diane Chason, Crissy Young, Sunshine McCullough and Sandy Heard; back row, left to right, Willis and first-place team members James Dollar, Greg Harrell — who had a hole in one on hole No. 7, Casey Townsend and Jason Harrell.

Greg Harrell shot a hole in one on Bainbridge Country Club’s hole No. 7 Saturday, to lead his team to a one-stroke victory in the first annual Teresa Diane Young Foundation Tournament.

Harrell and his teammates Jason Harrell, Casey Townsend and James Dollar shot a 13-under-par 59 for the victory. David Howell had the longest drive of the day.

The Teresa Diane Young Foundation is dedicated to improving the quality of life for residents of the South Georgia Judicial Circuit, which includes Decatur, Grady, Mitchell, Calhoun and Baker counties. Teresa Diane Young Chason, who formerly worked with the Bainbridge-Decatur County YMCA in the Gibbs-Miles after-school program, taught parenting classes and served as the Bainbridge Housing Authority’s resident service coordinator, founded the foundation in 2011.

Email newsletter signup

The foundation is dedicated to assisting others who have become victims of child abuse, domestic violence, and violent crimes, so they can have access to available community services and resources.

Saturday’s tournament was played under a scramble format, with each player hitting his second shot from the spot of the longest drive.

SECOND- AND THIRD-PLACE team members get together with the tournament hosts and director, following Saturday’s first annual Teresa Diane Young Foundation Golf Tournament at Bainbridge Country Club. Shown are: front row, left to right, Misty Young, Judy Brown, Crissy Young, Diane Chason, Sandy Heard, Sunshine McCullough and director Tommy Willis; back row, left to right, second- and third-place team members Cliff Kirbo, Logan McLean, Richie Turner, Toby Norman, Parks Kirbo, Bruce Kirbo Jr. and Wheat Kirbo.

The second place team of Toby Norman, Richie Turner and Logan McLean, and the third place team of Bruce Kirbo Jr., Wheat Kirbo, Parks Kirbo and Cliff Kirbo finished tied for second during regulation play with 12-under-par rounds of 60. The tie was broken in a playoff.

Following the tournament, foundation board member and tournament chairman Tommy Willis expressed his appreciation to the golfers for making the tournament a success.

“I want to thank you all for playing and making our first annual tournament a success,” Willis said prior to making awards presentations to the top three teams and individual winners. “You have helped a lot of great people and we hope to make next year’s tournament even bigger and better.”