Three Bearcats earn All-Region honors

Published 11:03 am Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Bainbridge High School Bearcats senior righthanded pitcher Jordan Massey, sophomore outfielder Tate Lambert and junior righthanded pitcher Rion Murrah have been named to the coaches’ All-Region 1-AAAA baseball team.

Massey was a second-team selection and Lambert and Murrah were honorable mention selections.

Email newsletter signup

Massey appeared in 15 games for coach Scott Miller’s Bearcats, pitched 40 innings, had four saves and posted a 2.63 ERA.

Lambert played in 22 games, had 58 at-bats and finished with a .293 batting average. He had 15 singles, one double and one home run.

Murrah appeared in 17 games, and had an 0.68 ERA.

The Region 1-AAAA player of the year was first baseman Daniel Nichols of Lee County.

The pitcher of the year was Austin Wallace of Houston County and the coach of the year was Jason Brett of Houston County.

Among those joining Nichols and Wallace on the All-Region 1-AAAA first team were second baseman Eric Johnson of Thomas County Central, shortstop Jesus Monserrat of Northside-Warner Robins, third baseman Cole McArthur of Northside-Warner Robins and catcher Josh Anthony of Hardaway.

Also on the first team were outfielder Garrett Kline of Harris County, outfielder Andrew Stroud of Lee County, outfielder Hunt Smith of Harris County, designated hitter Tyler Dukes of Hardaway, pitcher Chris Cobb of Northside-Columbus and pitcher Kendall Scott of Northside-Warner Robins.

Among those joining Massey on the All-Region 1-AAAA second team were first baseman Clint Wynn of Houston County, second baseman Mike Rossi of Northside-Columbus, shortstop Jess Posey of Lee County, third baseman Trent Jones of Houston County, catcher David Umphreyville of Houston County and outfielder Jack Montgomery of Northside-Warner Robins.

Also on the second team were outfielder Dillon Blackwell of Warner Robins, outfielder Rob Shayne of Northside Columbus, outfielder Michael Lee of Warner Robins, pitcher Ty Odom of Warner Robins and pitcher Kyle Riley of Thomas County Central.

Joining Lambert and Murrah as honorable mention All-Region 1AAAA selections were Logan Robinson, Will Griggs, Sheridan Coy and Tre’von Dorsey of Hardaway, Dalton Carriker Justin Jones and Scott Daniel of Houston County and Mark Fowler, Jack Bell and Chris Mosley of Lee County.

Also among the honorable mention selections were Chase Sloccumb of Northside-Columbus, Jason Gifford, Hunter Bobbitt, Blake Meadows and Brent Sappe of Northside-Warner Robins, Kris Lee of Thomas County Central and A.J. Priaulx of Warner Robins.