Emily Ward wins Sousa award

Published 11:28 am Monday, May 7, 2012

SENIOR FLUTE PLAYER Emily Ward proudly holds her John Philip Sousa Award, the highest honor a Bainbridge High School Band member can receive, at Thursday night’s Decatur County Band Program Spring Concert and Awards. Taking part in the presentation are her father, Decatur County School System Director of Bands, Paschal Ward, third from left, Decatur County School Superintendent Dr. Fred Rayfield, left, and Bainbridge High School principal Tommie Howell, right. She also received the Emory and Kathleen Johnson Scholarship and performed a flute solo.

Senior Emily Ward won the John Philip Sousa Award, highlighting Bainbridge High School Band awards at Thursday night’s annual Spring Concert and Awards program at the Bainbridge High School Gymnasium.

The Sousa Award, named for arguably the most well-known and distinguished bandmaster in history, is given annually in recognition of outstanding achievement and interest in instrumental music and for singular merit in loyalty and cooperation and displaying those high qualities of conduct that school instrumental music requires.

Alyssa Bardwell, who will be attending the University of Georgia, received the Paschal Ward Music Scholarship, established by the Decatur County Band Boosters and named for the current Decatur County School System Director of Bands.

Email newsletter signup

Under Ward’s leadership, the Bainbridge High School concert and symphonic bands have earned “superior” ratings for 27 consecutive years. The scholarships are awarded each year to senior members of the band who have demonstrated musical talent and expressed an interest in pursuing a career in music education or education.

The John M. Long Award, one of the highest honors in the BHS band program, was also won by Bardwell.

The award is named for the dean of the school of fine arts, director of bands and distinguished professor of music emeritus at Troy University and goes annually to young musicians displaying leadership, dependability, loyalty, cooperation, musicianship and other qualities of conduct which school instrumental music programs strive to impart.

The Natonal Patrick Gilmore Award was won by Caleb Ford. The Sousa, Long and National Patrick Gilmore Awards are the top three honors a BHS band member can receive. They are named for three of the nations greatest musicians and bandmasters.

Justin Maxwell won the Director’s Award and Brandon Ponder won the Optimism Award, which are annually presented to band members who have displayed loyalty, perseverance and musicianship.

The third annual Emory Edwin and Kathleen Ivey Johnson Music Scholarship was presented to Emily Ward.

The Johnson scholarship program was instituted in honor and recognition of Emory Edwin and Kathleen Ivey Johnson and their son Emory Johnson and his family in 2009, upon the celebration of Edwin Johnson’s 90th birthday.

Tne Johnson family settled in the area of Climax in 1855. The scholarship, in honor of the Johnson’s love for music and continued support of fine arts, will be used to continue to benefit students involved in music at Bainbridge High School.

Following the inaugural presentation of the scholarship in 2010, Emory Edwin Johnson, Emory Johnson and Dorothy Johnson were named honorary members of the Bainbridge High School Band.

Outstanding concert band member awards were presented to Alex Burney and David Smith. J’Marquis Williams received the School Marching Band Award.

Outstanding freshman band awards went to Trey Walker and Charley Rayfield, outstanding sophomore band awards went to Yamantie Galnares and Hope Hinojo and outstanding junior band awards went to Kyle Horne and Casandra Henry.

Instrument l Magazine Musicianship Awards went to Travis Hunt, Courtney Murphey, Clint Edmonds, Jordan Friend and Courtney Key.

Receiving Instrumental Magazine Merit Awards were Gabby Howard, Antoinette Burke, Janice Watson, Autumn Chestnut, Stanley Fagg, Josh Daniel and Amanda Wimberly.

The most outstanding color guard member was Miranda Walden, the most outstanding dance line member was Leigh Spooner, the most improved color guard member was Patsy McCall and the most improved dance line member was Caroline New.

Twenty band members who attended the Southeastern United States Band Clinic at Troy University were recognized.

They were Emily Ward, Jordan Friend, Lynn Yen, Travis Hunt, Courtney Key, Josh Daniel Tyler Hughes, Kelsey Andrews, Caleb Ford, Stanley Fagg, Ethan Martin, Kyle Horne, Tanner Jackson, Zack Godwin, Chris Webster, Alyssa Bardwell, Emily Lynn, Jessa Hamilton, J.D. Poole and Clayton Terry.

Forty three seniors received their senior band awards. They included Alyssa Bardwell, Anna Barwick, Jo Hannah Brock, Megan Brock, Antoinette Burke, Josh Daniel, Heather Fleming, Emerald Folsom, Caleb Ford, Emily Friend, Zack Godwin, Alli Guy, Elleree Guy, Jessa Hamilton and Gabby Howard.

Other senior honorees were Tyler Hughes, Courtney Key, Emily Lynn, Justin Maxwell, Patsy McCall, Anye Miller, Quinterrious Mitchell, Aaliyah Mohammed, Kristin Monson, Marilyn Ortiz, Brandon Ponder, Brooke Ponder, J.D. Poole, Jessica Rogers, Jodi Sanders, Mya Shilo, David Smith, Leigh Spooner, Asilynne Strickland, Shabria Stubbs, Aarron Talley, Kimberly Thomas, Keilon Wade, Emily Ward, Christopher Webster, Amanda Wimberly, Claire Worthington and Samantha Yeats.

David and Alicia Gordon won the Joe Crine Award, named for The Post-Searchlight Sports Editor Joe Crine, for his continued support of the band program.