Nursing grads receive pins

Published 8:30 pm Tuesday, June 21, 2011

AS THEY MARKED THEIR TRANSITION from Bainbridge College students to professional nurses, the new graduates of the Associate of Science in Nursing degree program participated in a traditional pinning ceremony. From the left, front, are Amber Taylor, Amy Mills, Stephanie Brock and Heather Downing of Bainbridge; Krystle Posey of Donalsonville; Ashley Finley, Tess McFay and Kimberly Mims of Bainbridge; Karen Cook of Colquitt; Charity Trawick of Bainbridge; Jana Tatum of Donalsonville; and Maureen Howard of Cairo. In the back, are Angela Bush and Gennette Hayes of Colquitt; Carla Williams of Bainbridge; Mary Lindsey of Blakely; Lajuanna Temples, Susan Skipper, Jason Tabb and Kathy Davis of Bainbridge; Jenny Maldonado of Donalsonville; Abigail Glass of Bainbridge; Sunny Gross of Colquitt; Carla Parrish and Dorthy Marshburn of Bainbridge; Amanda Kibler of Fort Gaines; Holly Torres and Kayla Hayes of Bainbridge.

The 28 Associate of Science in Nursing degree graduates, who received their degrees at Bainbridge College (BC) graduation May 12, marked their transition from students to professional nurses May 13 in a traditional pinning ceremony.

The largest cohort to graduate from the program, they received pins in BC’s new Student Wellness Center where they had graduated the night before. The distinctive pin was designed specifically for the BC program, which is also known as the Associate Degree of Nursing (ADN) program.

Receiving pins were Stephanie Brock, Kathy Davis, Heather Downing, Ashley Finley, Abigail Glass, Kayla Hayes, Dorthy Marshburn, Tess McFay, Amy Mills, Kimberly Mims, Carla Parrish, Susan Skipper, Jason Tabb, Amber Taylor, Lajuanna Temples, Holly Torres, Charity Trawick and Carla Williams, all of Bainbridge; Mary Lindsey of Blakely; Maureen Howard of Cairo; Angela Bush, Karen Cook, Sunny Gross and Gennette Hayes of Colquitt; Jenny Maldonado, Krystle Posey and Jana Tatum of Donalsonville; and Amanda Kibler of Fort Gaines.

Email newsletter signup

Charity Trawick received the Academic Excellence Award, Jason Tabb received the Clinical Excellence Award, Kathy Davis the Leadership Award, and Kayla Hayes the Nightingale Award.

The John D. Archbold Leadership Award went to Jenny Maldonado, and Memorial Hospital and Manor Award went to Susan Skipper.

Students assisting with the program were Sunny Gross, Katie Hall, Kayla Hayes, Maureen Howard, Amanda Kibler, Amy Mills, Carla Parrish, Krystle Posey and Holly Torres.

Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Tonya Strickland welcomed participants to the program, and Health Sciences Division Chair Sheree Dickenson spoke about the strengths and attributes of each graduate as reflected in the Nursing Code of Ethics.

Other faculty members also assisted with the ceremony for which the guest speaker was former BC faculty member Dianne Beauchamp, who is now with Georgia Health Sciences University in Augusta. Faculty assisting were Janice Hall, Rhonda Payne, Jeffrey Ross and Tammie Varnadoe. Division Secretary Ruby Barlow also assisted.