Knight receives hospital’s award

Published 6:07 pm Tuesday, May 17, 2011

THE “JULIA C. ROGERS Excellence In Service Award" was given during Memorial Hospital and Manor's annual Hospital Week awards program to Chad Knight, on the right, a respiratory therapist, who is being congratulated by Hospital CEO Billy Walker.

KAREN FAIRCLOTH, chief financial officer of Memorial Hospital and Manor, received an award for 35 years of service. She is pictured with Billy Walker, CEO, and Charles Tyson, chairman of the Hospital Authority.

AWARDED FOR 30 YEARS OF SERVICE are, from the left, Belinda Corley and Vilda Jackson. Both Corley and Jackson work in long term care at Memorial Manor.


Public Relations Director

Memorial Hospital and Manor celebrated National Hospital Week and National Nursing Home Week with employees, volunteers, physicians and Hospital Authority members on May 12 with an annual awards program and picnic lunch.

Email newsletter signup

The presentation of the prestigious Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award was the highlight of an informal awards program, which also included the presentation of service pins.

The Julia C. Rogers “Excellence in Service” Award is given annually “to a Memorial Hospital and Manor employee whose commitment to serving patients extends beyond assigned responsibilities and whose caring efforts offer inspiration to others.”

The award has been given annually since 1990 in honor of the late Mrs. Julia C. Rogers, a Memorial Hospital and Manor nurse whose compassion and commitment touched patients, as well as employees, of the hospital and nursing home.

The recipient of this award is nominated by his peers and selected on qualities such as courteousness, consideration, gentleness, respectfulness and helpfulness.

Chad Knight, CRT, was selected for the 2011 Rogers Award. Knight has worked as a respiratory therapist at Memorial Hospital and Manor for 15 years. In the award nomination submitted by his peers, Knight was described as a very caring and understanding person who goes above and beyond his regular duties to care for patients. It was also reported that Knight “is always willing to help out in other departments, whether it’s lifting a patient or passing out meal trays. He does his work with pride and integrity, and always with a smile. His calming manor makes patients feel comfortable. He is a great asset to our facility.”

Knight said he was surprised and honored to receive the Julia C. Rogers Award.

“I know of a lot of other employees who deserve this more than I do, but I appreciate being selected for this award,” said Knight.

Alicia Estillore, M.D., chief of staff of Memorial Hospital and Manor, expressed appreciation to everyone on behalf of the medical staff for their dedication to patients and the teamwork that is exhibited in their work every day.

“Taking care of even one patient is a cooperative effort made by several members of the hospital staff at any given time,” Dr. Estillore told employees. “Let us continue to support each other so that we may provide our community with the medical services that they need and deserve.”

A picnic lunch for Memorial Hospital and Manor employees, volunteers, physicians and Hospital Authority members was provided after the awards program.

Other awards include

Superior Service Awards

Karen Williams, Administrative Services

Reketa Willingham, Ancillary Services

Tracey Hernandez, Financial Services

Myra Mackey, Long Term Care

Jennifer Landrum, Nursing Services

Don Brown, Support Services

Horizon Award

Devin Ross

Congeniality Award

Lisa Jones

Team Effort Award

Gloria Clark

Service Awards

Five-year awards

Beatrice Austin

Adrienne Belin

Floretta Borden

Jennifer Brewer

Aaron Brown

Natrina Butler

Anissa Cabrera

Brenda Carter

Gloria Clark

Rebecca Cohen

Courtney Dean

June Foster

Natalie Grubbs

Cherry Hines

Josh King

Jennifer Landrum

Joeanne Palmer

Jennifer Phillips

Sherrita Price

Anne Richardson

Pamela Robinson

Mike Sims

Cecilia Smith

Dr. Shawn Surratt

John Ulrich

Debbie White

Karen Williams

Ten-year awards

Linda Addison

Cassandra Bouie

Jennifer Brock

Rene Brock

Lori Conner

Wanda Green

Joan Harden

Debra Smith

Lynda Smith

Renee Sykes

Tasha Sweet

Billy Walker

Janice Williford

15-year awards

Marcia Brock

Geneva Bryant

Carol Cressler

Linda Dukes

Barbara Gaines

Joyce Heard

Tommy Joiner

Chad Knight

Sharon Parris

Jenny Ratts-Harrison

Nell Roberts

Suzan Yates

20-year awards

Lance Andrews

Dawn Hand

Joyce Kirkland

Stephanie McGriff

Nell Olds

Jan Pope

Laseanda Stubbs

Shirley Thompson

Jamie Williams

25-year awards

Amanda Addison

Marie Parks

Dorothy Sarpong

Leslie Stone

30-year awards

Belinda Corley

Vilda Jackson

35-year awards

Karen Faircloth