BC Creative Arts Club event

Published 2:44 pm Wednesday, April 6, 2011

BAINBRIDGE COLLEGE 2011 Coffee House Literary Contest winners for poetry and prose are seen here after the event that attracted about 60 persons to hear 17 contestants read their original works March 31 at the Charles H. Kirbo Regional Center on the college campus. From the left are poetry winners Jimmy Thomas, honorable mention, and Tawania Crapp, third place, both of Bainbridge; Caleb Long of Colquitt, second place, and Alice Grandberry of Quincy, Fla., first place; and prose winners, Wes Potter of Whigham, first; Jessica Andrews of Bainbridge, second; Seara Hicks of Cairo, third, and Sandra O’Neil of Climax, honorable mention.

Bainbridge College students from Gadsden County, Fla., and Grady County took the top honors in the highly competitive 2011 Coffee House Literary Contest presented by Bainbridge College Creative Arts Club March 31 in the Charles H. Kirbo Regional Center.

Students read their original works in either of two categories, poetry and prose.

First place honors went to Alice Grandberry of Quincy, Fla., for her powerful poem, “Fear,” and Wes Potter of Whigham for his erudite and entertaining essay, “Weltered Language.”

Email newsletter signup

Second place in poetry went to Caleb Long of Colquitt, for “August;” third place went to Tawania Crapp for “Stop Right There,” and honorable mention to Jimmy Thomas for “Able to Love Again,” both are of Bainbridge.

Second place for prose went to Jessica Andrews of Bainbridge, “Finding Peace in Grief;” third to Seara Hicks of Cairo, “A Fond Memory of My Favorite Holiday,” and honorable mention to Sandra O’Neil of Climax, “Determination Leads to Success.”

The winners came from a field of 17 strong competitors who read their original works and who are residents from throughout the Bainbridge College service area, including Blakely and Damascus, and Havana, Fla.

Carol Sinclair, who served as emcee, sponsors the Creative Arts Club with Carol Adams, Brenda Akins, Tammy Hinson and Patti Lord. After opening the program, Sinclair introduced the judges and BC President Richard Carvajal, who welcomed the students and the audience of about 60.

Judges were Arts and Sciences Division faculty members John Bickley, Emily Dowd and Patrick Smith. Also assisting with the program were Arts and Sciences faculty member Mary Glenn Grimes, Plant Operations personnel David Brown and Boen Brock, Student Activities Director David Price and Student Government Association members.