County seats at stake

Published 8:09 pm Tuesday, July 13, 2010

The county commission seat that represents south of the county in the Attapulgus area will be decided next Tuesday as the week prior to election is in its final days of advance voting.

The winner in the District 1 County Commission race between incumbent Earl Perry and David Holt won’t have any opposition in the general election and will win the seat.

Another local race that is being contested during Tuesday’s primary is that of the District 4 Democratic ticket between David R. Cottles and Ted Snell. That winner will face Frank Loeffler, an unopposed Republican, in the general election. The District 4 county commission seat, which is represents most of the City of Bainbridge, is being vacated by retiring Commissioner Palmer Rich,

Email newsletter signup

In the District 6 County Commission race, Republican Gary Phillips is being challenged by Democrat Oliver Sellers in the general election.

Advance voting for the primary election has been in full swing for 43 days.

Erica Hamilton, clerk of elections, said as of Monday morning, she has received 87 mailed-in ballots and 241 voters took advantage of advance voting, which continues this week with the Elections office on the corner of Crawford and Water streets staying open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

On Tuesday, July 20, voters must report to one of the nine precincts.

On Tuesday, workers in the elections office were preparing to mail out that night approximately 16,000 letters that contained information on the new precincts and each voter’s new registration card.

Sample ballots

(Contested races)

Democratic PartyU.S. Senate

Rakeim “RJ” Hadley

Michael “Mike” Thurmond


Thurbert Baker

Roy E. Barnes

Bill Bolton

Carl Camon

Randal Mangham

Dubose Porter

David Poythress

Lt. Governor

Tricia Carpenter McCracken

Carol Porter

Secretary of State

Gail Buckner

Gary Horlacher

Michael Mills

Angela “Miss Angela” Moore

Georganna Sinkfield

Attorney General

Ken Hodges

Rob Teilhet

State School Superintendent

Beth Farokhi

Joe Martin

Brian Westlake

Commissioner of Labor

Terry L. Coleman

Darryl Hicks

County Commission, District 1

David Holt

Earl Perry

County Commission, District 4

David R. Cottles

Ted Snell

Republican Party


Jeff Chapman

Nathan Deal

Karen Handel

Eric Johnson

Ray McBerry

John W. Oxendine

Otis Putnam

Secretary of State

Brian Kemp

Doug MacGinnitie

Attorney General

Sam Olens

Preston W. Smith

Max Wood

Commissioner of Agriculture

Gary Black

Darwin Carter

Commissioner of Insurance

Dennis Cain

Rick Collum

Seth Harp

Ralph T. Hudgens

Tom Knox

John Mamalakis

Stephen Dale Northington

Gerry Purcell

Maria Sheffield

State School Superintendent

John D. Barge

Kathy Cox

Richard Woods

Commissioner of Labor

Mark Butler

Melvin Everson

Public Service Commissioner

B. Joseph “Joey” Brush

John Douglas

Tim Echols

Jeff May

U.S. Representative, District 2

Rick Allen

Lee Ferrell

Mike Keown