Advance voting in full swing

Published 6:30 am Friday, June 11, 2010

Advance voting for the primary election is in full swing—39 days before the July 20th election.

Voters may vote between now until July 9 at the Decatur County Courthouse Annex, located on the corner of Crawford and Water streets, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Those hours expand from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. during the week of July 12-16.

For the primary election on July 20, voters will go to their precinct places to vote, said Erica Hamilton, clerk of elections.

Email newsletter signup

The winners of the Democratic and Republican primaries will face off in the General Election on Nov. 2.

State law no longer requires voters to state any excuse as to why they are voting early. Hamilton said the Elections Office is also still mailing out absentee ballots.

Locally, two Decatur County of County Commission seats are being contested in the primary election: District 1 Democratic ticket between David Holt and Earl Perry; and the District 4 Democratic ticket between David R. Cottles and Ted Snell.

The winner in the District 1 race will not have any opposition in November and thus will win the election.

The winner in the Democratic primary for the District 4 seat will face Frank Loeffler, a Republican who is unopposed in the primary, in November’s general election. The seat is being vacated by retiring Commissioner Palmer Rich.

In the District 6 County Commission race, incumbent Republican Gary Phillips is being challenged by Democrat Oliver Sellers in the general election.

Sample ballots

(Contested races)

Democratic Party

U.S. SenateRakeim “RJ” HadleyMichael “Mike” Thurmond

GovernorThurbert BakerRoy E. BarnesBill BoltonCarl CamonRandal ManghamDubose PorterDavid Poythress

Lt. GovernorTricia Carpenter McCrackenCarol Porter

Secretary of StateGail BucknerGary HorlacherMichael MillsAngela “Miss Angela” MooreGeorganna Sinkfield

Attorney GeneralKen HodgesRob Teilhet

State School SuperintendentBeth FarokhiJoe MartinBrian Westlake

Commissioner of LaborTerry L. ColemanDarryl Hicks

County Commission, District 1David HoltEarl Perry

County Commission, District 4David R. CottlesTed Snell

Republican Party

GovernorJeff ChapmanNathan DealKaren HandelEric JohnsonRay McBerryJohn W. OxendineOtis Putnam

Secretary of StateBrian KempDoug MacGinnitie

Attorney GeneralSam OlensPreston W. SmithMax Wood

Commissioner of AgricultureGary BlackDarwin Carter

Commissioner of InsuranceDennis CainRick CollumSeth HarpRalph T. HudgensTom KnoxJohn MamalakisStephen Dale NorthingtonGerry PurcellMaria Sheffield

State School SuperintendentJohn D. BargeKathy CoxRichard Woods

Commissioner of LaborMark ButlerMelvin Everson

Public Service CommissionerB. Joseph “Joey” BrushJohn DouglasTim EcholsJeff May

U.S. Representative, District 2Rick AllenLee FerrelleMike Keown