DaniMer’s proposal wins award

Published 6:17 am Tuesday, June 1, 2010

DaniMer Scientific of Bainbridge was one of six domestic companies to be selected for negotiations leading to an award under a contract with the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Energy Technology Laboratory.

DaniMer was selected as the project leader under the category “Creating Fractures Past Damage More Effectively With Less Environmental Damage” in the small producer category. The other project participants in this category include Texas A&M University and three other companies.

DaniMer Scientific is developing many types of biodegradable plastics, which its resins are based primarily on polylactic acid (PLA) derived from plants that is often combined with other renewable materials to form polymer alloys that are compostable and biodegradable.

Email newsletter signup

DaniMer is recognized as a global leader in bio-based polymer technologies and is further noted as a technology enabler where previous attempts may have not been successful. DaniMer has developed products for several large global brand owners such as International Paper, MeadWestvaco, Georgia Pacific, Quaker Oats and Frito Lay. DaniMer materials are designed for use in a wide array of applications from paper coatings to energy stimulation polymers as is the case for this application in support of the RPSEA project.

The Research Partnership to Secure Energy for America (RPSEA), based in Sugar Land, Texas, announced 11 proposals under the Unconventional Resources Program and six proposals under the Small Producer Program.

“Under the 2009 Small Producer Program, these selections allow small producing companies to maximize oil and gas extraction from their existing assets. The six selections for 2009 will continue the work of the current 13 program projects in place,” RPSEA Vice President of Technical Programs James Pappas said. “The domestic small producers comprise a large cross-section of the oil and gas industry and collectively account for a substantial portion of untapped reserves potential. The goal is to unlock the potential for domestic hydrocarbon resources by enhancing production with existing surface footprints from mature fields, where up to two-thirds of original-oil-in-place is left behind.”

The RPSEA projects are to award $16.5 million under its contract with the Department of Energy’s (DOE) National Energy Technology Laboratory and in support of the Ultra-Deepwater and Unconventional Natural Gas and Other Petroleum Resources Research and Development Program that was established by DOE pursuant to the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

Funding for the projects is provided through the Department of Energy’s “Ultra-Deepwater and Unconventional Natural Gas and Other Petroleum Resources Research and Development Program” established pursuant to the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

This program—funded from lease bonuses and royalties paid by industry to produce oil and gas on federal lands—is specifically designed to maximize the value of natural gas and other petroleum resources of the United States by increasing the supply of such resources, through reducing the cost and increasing the efficiency of exploration for and production of such resources, while improving safety and minimizing environmental impacts.

These projects focus on improving safety, minimizing environmental impacts, increasing efficiencies and reducing costs of domestic hydrocarbon resources, maximizing their value.

The Secretary of Energy has ultimate responsibility for and oversight of all aspects of this program.

RPSEA is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit consortium with more than 160 members, including 25 of the nation’s premier research universities, five national laboratories, other major research institutions, large and small energy producers and energy consumers.

The mission of RPSEA is to provide a stewardship role in ensuring the focused research, development and deployment of safe and environmentally responsible technology that can effectively deliver hydrocarbons from domestic resources to the citizens of the United States.