College’s presidential search committee named

Published 6:18 am Thursday, April 15, 2010

A search and screen committee that will be charged with finding a replacement of retiring Bainbridge College President Tom Wilkerson has been named.

The committee’s organizational meeting is scheduled for Friday, April 16, at 2 p.m. in the Kirbo Center’s board room.

Board of Regent member Doreen Stiles Poitevint and Rob Watts, chief operating officer of the University System of Georgia, will give the committee its formal charge on Friday, a Board of Regents news release stated.

Email newsletter signup

A national search will be conducted to replace Wilkerson, who is retiring at the end of the year, after having served the University System in this capacity since 2005.

Regent Poitevint at the Friday meeting will outline for the Presidential Search and Screen Committee the duties and responsibilities associated with its role in the search for new leadership at Bainbridge College. The committee will be charged with developing a position description, placing announcements in appropriate national media and conducting on-campus interviews.

The Presidential Search and Screen Committee will be chaired by Tonya Strickland, chair of the Division of Learning Support and interim chair of the Division of Arts and Sciences at Bainbridge College. The rest of the committee’s membership is as follows:

 David Pollock, instructional technology specialist, Bainbridge College;

 Joan Simpson, director, Bainbridge College Early County Center;

 Michael Kirkland, assistant professor, history, Bainbridge College;

 Ann Brannen, assistant professor, technical mathematics, Bainbridge College;

 Amy Wells, instructor of mathematics, Bainbridge College;

 Bainbridge Mayor Edward Reynolds;

 Bainbridge City Councilman Luther Conyers Jr., who also serves with the college’s foundation;

 Bainbridge City Councilwoman Glennie Bench, who also serves as chief financial officer of Southwest Georgia Oil Company; and

 Patricia Williams, student representative.

The campus-based committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to a Special Regents Search Committee for the second phase of the search.

Regents Richard L. Tucker, Benjamin Tarbutton III, Larry R. Ellis and Board of Regents Chair Robert F. Hatcher will serve as members of the Special Regents Search Committee, chaired by Regent Poitevint.

This committee is responsible for recommending finalists to Chancellor Erroll B. Davis Jr., who will make a recommendation to the full Board of Regents.