Decatur County 4-H Hosts Modified Trap Qualification Match

Published 11:53 am Saturday, May 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On April 23, 2024, Decatur County 4-H hosted a Southwest District 4-H Modified Trap Qualification Match in Bainbridge. Over eighty 4-H students from Seminole, Grady, Wilcox, Lee, and Decatur counties participated in the prerequisite shooting bout to determine eligibility for the 4-H State Target Challenge Weekend held at Rock Eagle on May 11. Qualification requirements for junior members (seventh and eighth grade) include breaking 16 out of 25 clays and senior members (9th -12th grade) hitting 20 of the 25 targets.

Decatur County 4-H junior team members of Winston Brock, Cole Henderson, Scott Ross Hayes, and Crosby Giddens received the 1st place for the junior team division with a score of 93.  Winston Brock and Cole Henderson hit 25 out of 25 targets and advanced to the round of doubles.  Winston Brock was named junior high individual after breaking nine out ten targets during doubles.

Middle school 4-H’ers competing at the Southwest District 4-H Modified Trap Qualification Match were:  Winston Brock, Cole Henderson, Charlie Smith, Scott Ross Hayes, Crosby Giddens, Gavin Hughes, Annabelle Harrell, Patrick Cox, and Kale Lambert.

Email newsletter signup

Decatur County 4-H senior team members of Grayson Griffin, Parker Cox, Brennan Enfinger, Christopher Staples, and Shelby Copeland won 3rd place for the senior team division.  The team tied with Grady County with a score of 89.  Grayson Griffin represented the team and participated in shooting doubles to break the tied score.  Grayson hit ten out of ten targets for doubles and advanced the team to third place.

High school 4-H’ers competing were:  Grayson Griffin, Parker Cox, Brennan Enfinger, Christopher Staples, Shelby Copeland, Evan Hutto, Marshall Harper, Tyler Godwin, Langston Bennett, Kinsey Ward, John-Thomas Stegall, Hayden Cohen, Judson Dollar, Sam Surratt, Morgan Vickers, and Levi Wade.   

The Georgia 4-H State Modified Trap was held at the UGA Beef Research Station near Rock Eagle on Saturday, May 11.  Twenty-two Decatur County 4-H’ers qualified for the state match with over 840 4-H shotgun team members from 62 counties participating in the contest. Cole Henderson, Grayson Griffin, Sam Surratt, and Evan Hutto had perfect scores by breaking 25 out of 25 targets which advanced them to the doubles round.

Team members have been practicing diligently each week since February under the guidance of dedicated volunteer coaches. Coaches for the Decatur County 4-H Shotgun Team are Jim Griffin, Lee Godwin, Tony Cox, Sam Hughes, and Todd Martin.

The Georgia 4-H Shooting Awareness, Fun and Education Program (S.A.F.E.) is sponsored by The Georgia 4-H Foundation. 4-H is the youth development program of the University of Georgia College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences. For more information about Decatur County 4-H, call the Decatur County Extension Office at (229) 248-3033.