Bonilla-Ortiz brothers, Holt named Region 1-4A position players of the year, eight Bearcats earn All-Region honors

Published 3:00 pm Friday, May 10, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three Bearcat soccer players were chosen as the best in their positions in Region 1-4A this season. Lathan Holt was crowned Region Goalkeeper of the Year. Angel Bonilla-Ortiz was named Region Midfield Player of the Year. Jose Bonilla-Ortiz was chosen as Region Co-Offensive Player of the Year. 

“I’m proud for those young men,” said Bearcats head soccer coach Brian Hill. “It’s good for them to get that [recognition] for all the hard work they’ve put in and for the rest of the region to recognize that as well.”

Holt was a game-changer for the Bearcats. The senior goalkeeper recorded eight shutouts and helped the Bearcats keep opponents to just 14 goals against, compared to the teams’ 87 goals for. The highlight of Holt’s season was when he led the team to a first-round playoff victory over Troup County with two game-saving stops in a penalty shootout. 

Email newsletter signup

Twins Angel and Jose were vital to the team’s success this year. Angel finished the season second on the team in goals (19) and third on the team in assists (9). Jose finished the season third on the team in goals (17) and second on the team in assists (13). Combined, the duo scored 36 goals and dished out 22 assists.

Eight other Bearcat players received All-Region honors.

Tomas Gallo, Cesar Hernandez-Rodriguez, Nicholas Tyre and Henry Vanstone were named to the All-Region 1st team.

Eduardo Miranda, Joel Sarmiento and Olegario Villegas-Ramos were chosen for the All-Region 2nd team.

Joseph Perez was recognized as an honorable mention.

On top of all of that, Brock Williams was named Region Player of the Year.


2023-2024 Bearcat Region 1-4A award recipients

Brock Williams- Player of the Year

Lathan Holt- Goalkeeper of the Year

Jose Bonilla-Ortiz- Co-Offensive Player of the Year

Angle Bonilla-Ortiz- Midfield Player of the Year

Tomas Gallo- 1st team All-Region

Cesar Hernandez-Rodriguez- 1st team All-Region

Nicholas Tyre- 1st team All-Region

Henry Vanstone- 1st team All-Region

Eduardo Miranda- 2nd team All-Region

Joel Sarmiento- 2nd team All-Region

Olegario Villegas-Ramos- 2nd team All-Region

Joseph Perez- Honorable Mention