Board of Education hears from Jones Wheat Primary principal, approve governor’s retention bonus and more

Published 2:50 pm Friday, January 19, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Members of the Decatur County Board of Education gathered on Thursday evening for their monthly meeting. Following the call to order and invocation, the board voted to re-elect Keith Lyle as Board Chair for the new year, and voted Winston Rollins as Vice Chair for this year.

After this, the board adopted the evening’s agenda and approved the minutes from the prior meeting. There was no public participation that evening.

Next on the agenda, Superintendent Dr. Boyd English gave the board a financial update, stating that the board’s revenue stands at $25,757,510, with $23,045,766 in expenditures. He then provided the board with an update on the board’s construction projects, namely concession stands; he stated there had been a slight delay, but were progressing, and that he would follow up on the construction of the new Performing Arts Center and Bainbridge Middle School.

Email newsletter signup

Following these updates, Jones Wheat Primary Principal Kaycee Wade gave a video presentation to the board showcasing Jones Wheat’s students and staff, as well as it’s Science of Reading program.

After the video concluded, the board moved on to the evening’s action items. The first item on the agenda was approval of Governor Kemp’s $1,000 retention bonus, which was approved.

Next, the board considered approval for an out-of-town overnight field trip, which was approved.

The board members then approved the board 2024 meeting calendar, as well as the 2024/2025 school calendar.

After this, the board approved the first reading Board Policy EEE Wellness Program.

The last action item on the agenda was the approval of a personnel packet, which also was approved.

Following this, the meeting adjourned.