SRTC Foundation Awards $61,400 in Scholarships 
for Spring Semester 2024

Published 1:00 pm Thursday, December 28, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

For the 2024 spring semester, which begins January 9, the Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) Foundation awarded scholarships to 73 students totaling $61,400. The SRTC scholarship funds assist students with education-related costs such as tuition, fees, books, classroom and lab supplies, and gas money.

The students who were awarded scholarships are Michelle Oliver of Adel, Tiffany Travis of Albany, Chad Wentworth of Ashburn, Tijaniya Jones, Nancy Lerma Cerda, Henry Manley and Nancy Villalobos of Bainbridge, Katisa Payne of Berlin, Conner Sadler of Boston, Natasha Frazier, Yeni Gonzalez-Menchu, Renee Gray, Jada Harrell, Santos Hernandez, Laney Mathers and Fallyn Schafer of Cairo, Tyeera Gardner, Hanna Humphries, Ann Shellhorn and Treasure Wallace of Camilla, Amber Sanchez of Chula, Landin Hutto of Climax, Jamey Gray of Coolidge, Ykemia Young of Doerun, Kimberly Pitts of Enigma, Shana Schaldenbrand of Havana, Toddarian Boyd, Addie Hamner, Ally Johnson, Jayden Mitchell, Jazmine Quinones, Jackie Sweat and Karli Whiddon of Moultrie, Tara Warden of Ochlocknee, Amanda Owens of Pavo, Melissa Salter and Takesha Wright of Pelham, Alexis Adkins of Perry, Misty Blackburn-Moody of Quitman, Austin Forbeck of Sylvester, Angelicia Claudio-Mirabal, Alison Fletcher, Sydney Garcia, Jadyn Hester, Jacey Kenton, Kylee Knight, Stacy Lopes, Anderson Ochs, Ashley Paracca, Sonalbahen Patel, Bobbie Quick, Kristi Reid, Shantina Smith, Terri Tedder, Tanner Turpin, April Willis and Vivian Winter of Thomasville, Tracy Baker, Tiyanna Black, Madison Dixon, Daisey Estrada, Shakina Fields, Lyndsey Griffin, Midori Moffett, Amanda Odom, Aimee Radford and Diana Ramirez of Tifton, Percell Lewis of Ty Ty, Natiah Deberry, Lasharra Merriweather and Marje Mosley of Valdosta, and Amanda Kines of Whigham.

Fourteen of the scholarship recipients were awarded the Growing Nurses Recruitment Scholarship. This scholarship was developed by SRTC to attract more students to the Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) Program in an effort to help alleviate the critical shortage of nurses in the local community, State of Georgia, and nationwide. The funding for the Growing Nurses program was established by Archbold Medical Center, but is now also supported by Colquitt Regional Medical Center, Tift Regional Medical Center and the Lewis Hall and Mildred Sasser Singletary Foundation. Scholarships are awarded every semester to deserving students who desire a career as a nurse and who are committed to attending SRTC in order to complete the requirements for obtaining an ASN degree.

Email newsletter signup

“On behalf of the SRTC Foundation Board of Trustees, congratulations to each of these students on their spring 2024 scholarship awards. This is a very competitive process and we are proud to celebrate our students’ accomplishments. Thank you to all of our generous donors who make awarding these scholarships possible,” commented Dr. Amy Maison, Vice President for Institutional Advancement at Southern Regional Technical College.

The application period for summer scholarships will begin January 7 and applications may be submitted until April 7. Current and future SRTC students may apply for Foundation scholarships online:

The SRTC Foundation is a non-profit corporation whose mission is to promote the cause of higher education and expand educational opportunities to the students of SRTC. The Foundation strives to create scholarships and endowments, and assist in the financing of capital improvements and other college-related expenses.

For more information on scholarships, how to give, and how to apply, please visit the Foundation’s website at or contact the Institutional Advancement Office by calling (229) 225-4060.

SRTC offers over 150 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 28 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Thomas, Tift, Turner, and Worth counties for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to

Summer semester begins May 13! Don’t wait, enroll today!