SRTC Nursing Graduates Honored in Pinning Ceremony

Published 9:15 am Friday, December 8, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Tuesday, December 5, Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) held a pinning ceremony at SRTC-Thomasville during which 27 Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) students and 18 Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) students from the LPN to RN Bridge program Nursing cohorts received their nursing pins. The ceremony commemorates the students’ successful completion of their nursing coursework and clinical rotations. This class of nursing students is eligible to participate in SRTC’s formal graduation ceremony on December 6 and will officially be Registered Nurses (RN) pending the passage of their board exams.

The ASN Generic students receiving pins were Brittany Washington of Albany, Amelia Hillmon of Ashburn, Altamese Canty of Blakely, Junnesha Cason, Daijhana Chandler, Mariana Matias, Laura Maxwell, Erin McGhin, Jada Pearson and Kendralissa Smith of Cairo, Ashley Carden of Camilla, Makayla Cross of Folkston, Emiyah Harper of Leesburg, Tammy Evans of Meigs, Rachel Benoit and Anna Tillery of Moultrie, Toni Hornsby of Ochlocknee, Lakyn Griffin of Pavo, Terell Lamons of Quitman, Laura Brooks of Sylvester, Emily Bedwell, Eurica Bush, ShaKayla Coleman, Kristin Revell and Madison Day of Thomasville, Shellice Wright of Tifton and Abeni Williams of Valdosta.

The ASN Bridge students receiving pins were Ana Bartolo of Albany, Crystal McNair of Bainbridge, Jordan Adkins of Cairo, Candace Rambo of Donalsonville, Brittany Berry of Douglas, Jasmine Wright of Hazelhurst, Savory Wilson of Macon, Tiesha Claitt, Jasmin Kelsey and Shandrekka Mathis of Moultrie, Latasha White of Ocilla, Carmesia Freeman of Perry, FL, Kristina Allen of Quincy, FL, Jonsquayla Blackshear and Maskesha West of Thomasville, and Noemi Reyes, Benara Walker and Dawn Wooten of Tifton.

Email newsletter signup

During the pinning ceremony, which symbolizes the rite of passage into the nursing profession, students received a pin and a small lamp. The pin reminds students of their purpose to serve the sick and infirmed. The lamp serves as a tribute to Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern-day nursing. In the nineteenth century, Nightingale was known as the “Lady with the Lamp,” tending to the sick while carrying a lamp to light the way.

At the ceremony, faculty members recognized several students for exceptional achievement during their time in the nursing program. Laura Maxwell and Noemi Reyes received the Clinical Excellence Award. This is a special award because their classmates vote on the recipient. This person has excellent bedside manner and great nursing skills. The student is a leader and is always willing to assist their classmates.

Mariana Matis, Lakyn Griffin and Maskesha West earned the highest exit exam scores and the Exit Exam Awards. The exit exam is a diagnostic test that evaluates general knowledge and critical thinking abilities of the graduate nurse.

SRTC’s ASN faculty recognized Ashley Carden and Carmesia Freeman with the Nightingale Awards. The ASN faculty established the Nightingale Award in recognition of an outstanding student who exemplifies the characteristics essential to the caring nature of nursing. The recipient is as a person who always displays a positive attitude, is reflective of the college’s work ethic standard’s, epitomizes the carative nature of our profession, consistently demonstrates gentleness, kindness, professionalism and dedication.

Finally, Archbold Medical Center presented their Leadership award to Jada Person and Jasmine Wright. Throughout the last year, these students have been positive in the classroom, led others by example, and demonstrated excellent clinical skills. These students have done an outstanding job with patient care, never complaining while always learning. They have spent many hours in the classroom, virtual hospital and the clinical setting to promote the success of fellow classmates. “The ASN students being pinned and graduating this semester are the first cohort I taught here at Southern Regional Technical College,” said SRTC’s ASN Faculty Laura Roberts, MSN, RN. “They are a unique group and will always hold a special place in my heart as my first nursing students. I see great potential in them to be amazing and compassionate nurses. These students are full of fun personalities and are competent in their clinical skills. As their compassion shines, their patients will be in great hands. I would like this cohort to know how special they are to me and to continue to pursue their dreams and further their education in nursing. I am truly so proud of each and every one of them!”

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN) program is designed to prepare students as entry-level practitioners to provide safe, effective nursing care and promote healthy transitions for diverse clients in a variety of settings. This program develops critical thinking, integrates accumulated knowledge from nursing, the sciences and humanities, and emphasizes the values of caring, accountability, responsibility and professional ethics. The SRTC ASN program has been granted approval by the Georgia Board of Nursing and is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). SRTC offers over 150 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 28 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell, Seminole, Thomas, Tift, Turner, and Worth counties for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degreegranting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most upto- date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to Spring semester begins January 9! Don’t wait, enroll today!