Decatur County Schools names Teachers of the Year

Published 1:45 pm Wednesday, August 31, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Tuesday the Decatur County Board of Education had a special luncheon to honor the Teachers of the Year winners, sponsored by First Port City Bank. Superintendent Tim Cochran along with First Port City Bank president Scott Ewing and Hal Brennan presented five teachers with their accolades.

The winners of Teachers of the Year consisted of special education teacher Shelita Close, second grade teacher Lacia Sadler, middle school teacher Joseph Sarpong, fourth grade teacher Alicia Cloud and kindergarten teacher Jenny Gleeson.

The teachers were treated with lunch and gift bags courtesy of First Port City Bank.

Email newsletter signup

The winners of the year awards were not only based upon the work the teachers do in the classroom, but also the time they put into their teaching outside of the classroom. Whether it is decorating their classroom, grading papers or preparing their lesson plans, these teachers’ efforts were recognized by the Decatur County Board of Education.

“The community can’t live without teachers,” said Hal Brennan. “That’s one career that we can’t go without is teachers. They have no idea how much they are appreciated and these teachers are the best of the best. It’s definitely something that they should be proud of.”