Bearcats claim spots on All-Region Team

Published 9:59 am Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Region 1-AAAA recently announced the players that would be on their first and second teams for the 2021 season, with the Bearcats having a large showing on the roster.

Senior Deyon Bouie not only made 1st team offense and defense, but also was named the Offensive Player of the Year. He led the region with 10 touchdown receptions, receiving 28 times this year for 579 yards with an average of 20.6 yards and 13 touchdowns total.

Also on the 1st Team Offense is William McCorkle.

Email newsletter signup

McCorkle is a consistent center, who was on the 2020 all region 1st team. He had 0 bad snaps this year and 5 knockdown blocks.

Zion Bouie will be on the 1st team offense as the offensive all-purpose. He had 652 all-purpose yards this season and three touchdowns, despite an injury late in the season.

Sophomore Keenan Phillips will join the 1st team offense as a Running Back.

Phillips emerged as a threat during region play, going five straight 100-yard games. He had 15 receptions for 111 yards and nine touchdowns throughout the season.

Bo Smith will serve as Quarterback on the 1st team offense.

He had 126 completed passes this season for 2,087 yards and 22 touchdowns, which is the 2nd best in BHS history.

Dontae Broadnax and Zye Chrispen will join the 1st team defense.

Broadnax will play linebacker. He led the team in tackles this year with 84, had 7 sacks and one blocked kick.

Chrispen will be a defensive all-purpose player. He had one interception this year, while he had 8 passes defensed and 17 tackles. He also scored 5 touchdowns throughout the season.

Bouie will also play on the defense side as a Defensive Back. He led the team with 9 passes defensed, 2 interceptions, 1 pick six and 21 tackles.

Nick Tyre and Bouie were both named on the Specialists 1st Team.

Tyre was tied with Cairo’s Mo Wilson for punter. Tyre had 37 punts this season for an average of 35.9 yards. He had seven punts inside the 20 yard-line.

Bouie will be the Return Specialist. He averaged 35.8 yards on kick returns this season, for two touchdowns and a long return of 96 yards.

The Bearcats also had a showing on the 2nd Team Roster.

Antavious Murphy was named Wide Receiver on the 2nd Team Offense, while Jeb Logue was named to the Offensive Line.

Murphy led the team in receptions this season. He had 31 for 508 yards and 3 touchdowns, giving him 727 all-purpose yards and 5 touchdowns throughout the season. He additionally led the team in interceptions.

Logue is a strong guard, who had 15 knockdowns this season.

Octavious Green, Dariyon Smart, Amari Ross, Zion Bouie and Murphy were named to the 2nd team Defense.

Green and Smart were both named to the Defensive Line.

Green had 26 tackles this season, 22 of which were solo. He additionally had 6 sacks and 2 hurries. Smart had 40 tackles this season, 29 of which were solo. He ended the season with 4 sacks and 4 hurries.

Ross will be playing at linebacker. He had 59 tackles this season, 53 of which were solo. He had six sacks and 4 pressures, as well.

Bouie and Murphy will both be playing as Defensive Backs.

Murphy had four interceptions this season with two pick sixes, while Bouie had 29 tackles and one interception.

Tyre will also appear on the specialist 2nd team as a Placekicker.

He made 19 of 21 extra points this year and 6 of 7 field goals, totaling 37 points for the season.

While that rounded out both the 1st and 2nd teams, several Bearcats received Honorable Mentions.

Sophomore Will Goodson, Junior Blake Fagan, Junior Mason Brown, Senior Peyton Edwards and Sophomore AJ Grant all received Offensive Honorable Mention and Juniors Tevon Moore and Devon Smart received Defensive Honorable Mention.