Board of Education recognizes retirees at meeting

Published 10:09 am Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Thursday, May 20, the Decatur County Board of Education met for their regularly scheduled meeting. The evening meeting was a special one, as most of the meeting was set aside to honor this year’s retirees. Unfortunately, not all retirees were in attendance to receive their awards.

Principal Roy Matthews spoke first, honoring four retirees from Bainbridge High School. First was Shorrie Jones, who had served as a parapro and substitute for a total of 14 years; next was Kimberly Sproul, with 34 years teaching in the foreign language department; Coach Tom Wheeler came after, with 30 years of service; and lastly was Dr. Janet Smith, with 30 years of teaching in the exceptional education department.

Next, Dr. Marilyn Melton, Director of the BHS Personalized Learning Community, acknowledged special education teacher Sonja Gibson for her 30 years of service.

Email newsletter signup

Principal Quinten Fuller and Director of School Nutrition Nita Floyd both stood for Bainbridge Middle School to honor Mrs. Beulah Hansford, a lunch lady who had worked for the schools the most at 40 years.

Dr. Crycynthia Gardner, Principal of Hutto Middle School first honored special ed teacher Mrs. Amanda Griffin for her 21 years of service. Next was Coach Petra Joyner, who served for a total of 14 years.

Principal Kaycee Wade of John Johnson first recognized Letitia Austin, now former assistant principal, with a total of 31 years of service across various schools. Honored next was secretary Gail Grubbs, with 25 years of service.

Dr. Larry Clark, Principal of Jones Wheat, recognized Lisa Hayes, a special ed teacher with 30 years of service total.

West Bainbridge Elementary’s Assistant Principal Ortega Ross first honored Angela Turner Leon for her 35 years of service; followed by Jennifer Livingston, for her 15 years of service; Troy Thomas, for his 21 years of service; and Cathy McDonald, for her 15 years.

Lastly, Director of Operations Steve Caulder stood for the Maintenance Department, recognizing Jessie Toliver for his 11 years of service.

Put together, all the evening’s retirees represent over 390 years of collective service.