Griffin re-elected,Barber wins County Commission, Package sales allowed on Sunday

Published 10:32 am Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Wiley Griffin (I) won the race for Sheriff in a highly contested race on Tuesday night, while Bobby Barber Jr. was elected as Decatur County Commissioner, District 5.

Griffin received 6,516 votes, while his opponents John Kirkus took home 3,452 votes and Chip Nix 1,425.

Barber received 1,354 votes total while, opponent Johnnie Mae Livingston took home 479 votes.

Email newsletter signup

County Commissioner for District 2, Steve Brock ran unopposed for his seat, along with Dennis Brinson for District 3.

Sunday package sales of alcohol were given a “yes,” receiving 7,326 votes in favor of the referendum, while 4,015 voted “no.”

As of press time Tuesday night, Joseph Biden (D) led Donald Trump (R) in Electoral College votes 119-92.

However, Trump won the popular vote in Decatur County and received 6,752 votes, while Biden received 4,772.

David Perdue (I) was leading for the US Senate seat against Jon Ossoff. Perdue received 6,690 votes locally, while Ossoff received 4,557.

The special election for Senator Kelly Loeffler’s senate seat was currently seeing a close race.

Doug Collins was barely leading with 2,989 votes from Decatur County, while Loeffler received 2,977. Raphael Warnock (D) received 1,738 votes from residents and Deborah Jackson (D) received 1,426.

Jason Shaw (I) was leading the race for Public Service Commissioner, District 1. He received 6,544 of local votes, while Robert Bryant received 4,402.

Public Service Commissioner, District 4 was being led by Lauren McDonald, Jr. (I). She received 6, 409 votes, while Daniel Blackman received 4, 470.

In a twist, Sanford Bishop (I) was losing for US House District 2. He received 5,119 votes, while Republican Don Cole received 6,249 votes locally.

Senator Dean Burke ran unopposed for Distirct 11, along with Representative Joe Campbell for District 171.

Representative Darlene Taylor (I) won the State House District 173 race with 2,223 votes being cast for her, while opponent Booker T. Gainor received 1,298.

A total of 11,655 votes were cast out of 16,618 registered voters, totaling at more than 70% voter turnout.