Sen. Burke shares 2020 session priorities

Published 2:30 pm Friday, January 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Monday, January 13, 2020, the Senate Majority Caucus outlined their priorities for the 2020 legislative session. This year, the Senate Majority Caucus plans to introduce legislation that includes fixes for marketplace facilitators’ collection of tax revenue, limits for Pharmacy Benefit Managers and measures to curb surprise billing, as well as additional funding to improve infant and maternal mortality rates. Sen. Dean Burke (R – Bainbridge) released the following statement on the introduction of these initiatives:

“Over the past several years, Georgia has experienced rapid economic growth and has received numerous accolades for our business environment. However, it’s important to remember that not everyone in our state is benefitting from this success. In communities like ours, we are faced with realities that differ from those in urban areas. Healthcare can be expensive and often difficult to come by, main street shops are losing business to large online retailers and broadband internet access is not always reliable.

“Issues such as these are exactly what these priorities are aimed at addressing. We need policies that lift up all Georgians and provide real solutions to everyday problems we experience. As a former OB/GYN, health care issues, specifically maternal and infant mortality, are especially important to me. It is unacceptable for our state to be the best for business, but among the lowest for many categories of health care outcomes. These priorities will address that, as well as increasing price transparency in health care costs and introducing limits for Pharmacy Benefit Managers.

Email newsletter signup

“I look forward to working with my fellow legislators as we fine-tune these proposals and develop legislation that will be the most impactful for all Georgians across our state.”

Sen. Dean Burke is Chairman of the Ethics Committee. He represents the 11th Senate District which includes Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller and Seminole counties and portions of Mitchell and Thomas counties. He may be reached by phone at 404.656.0040 or by email at