Bainbridge High School JROTC ends successful year with awards banquet

Published 3:38 pm Tuesday, April 23, 2019

The Air Force JROTC held its annual awards program and celebrated its 25th year at Bainbridge High School on April 19th 2019.  The Bainbridge High School AFJROTC program was first established at Bainbridge High School in 1994.  Since this time, approximately 2,500 cadets have completed the JROTC program.  The Bainbridge High School JROTC program has received many accolades throughout the years, such as 3 Distinguished Unit with Merit Awards, 10 Distinguished Unit Awards, and 3 Outstanding Unit Awards. 

The House of Representatives has bestowed upon the Bainbridge High School AFJROTC program, House Resolution 224, by Representatives Taylor of the 173rd, Powell of the 171st, Belton of the 112th, Hitchens of the 161st, and Ehrhart of the 36th districts.  The resolution was presented by Representative Darlene Taylor at the Bainbridge High School Air Force JROTC annual awards banquet.  The resolution reads:

Recognizing and commending the Air Force Junior ROTC cadets of Bainbridge High School; and for other purposes.

Email newsletter signup

WHEREAS, the Air force Junior ROTC program of Bainbridge High School has been challenging young men and women to be better citizens for their community and country for 25 outstanding years; and

WHEREAS, the instructors and cadets have exemplified the Air Force core values of integrity, service, and excellence; cadets have provided exceptional support to their community through over 1,000 annual service hours through various projects; and

WHEREAS, they have successfully represented Bainbridge High School in regional and national drill team competitions throughout the last 25 years, including Team Championships at all levels of competition and Overall Drill Meet Championships on numerous occasions; the AFJROTC program of Bainbridge High School is one of the most respected teams in the State of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, fourteen Bainbridge cadets received appointment to the services academies and many other cadets received ROTC scholarships from the Air Force, Navy, and Army; the Cadet Commander of the Air Force ROTC program at Valdosta State University is a former Bainbridge cadet; and

WHEREAS, the AFJROTC program and cadets have received numerous awards for excellence designated by the Headquarters of Air Force Junior ROTC at Maxwell Air Force Base, Alabama; numerous instructors have received statewide recognition by the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW); and

WHEREAS, the stability for this superb program has been ensured by exceptional administrative support and steadfast leadership under five instructors throughout its 25 year history: Colonel Gary Breedlove, Master Sergeant Tom Fossum, Senior Master Sergeant Frank Geslak, Lieutenant Colonel David Stewart, and Senior Master Sergeant Scott Morehouse; these instructors together with their dedicated cadets, have provided an exceptional and professional military presence in Decatur County for 25 years; and

WHEREAS, it is abundantly fitting and proper that the outstanding accomplishments of this remarkable and distinguished organization be appropriately recognized.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that the members of this body commend and recognize the Air Force Junior ROTC cadets of Bainbridge High School for their award-winning work and commend the group for its service to the community and local youth.

The annual awards program recognized the following cadets for their hard work throughout the 2018/2019 school year.

Fitness Award:

9th Grade – Luke Emmons

10th Grade – Gage Vulgamore

11th Grade – Shelbi Reynolds

12th Grade – Gage Kempton

Colonel John spencer Wilkins

Humanitarian Award: Christopher Nelson

Most Improved Cadets:

9th Grade – Jed Taylor

10th Grade – Deoveon Cooper

11th Grade – Clayton Clemons

12th Grade – DyShayla Henderson

Air Commando Association Award: Logan Spooner

Celebrate Freedom Foundation Award:

9th Grade – Kevin Ramirez

10th Grade – Karli Willis

11th Grade – Logan Spooner

12th Grade – Neel Patel

The Retired Enlisted Association Award: Daisy May Newsome

Tuskegee Airman, Inc. Award:  Clayton Clemons and Harley Blocker

Sons of Confederate Veterans –H.L. Hunley Award: Xavier Scott

Air Force Sergeants Association Award: Gerald Peed

Military Order of the Purple Heart Award: Shelbi Reynolds

Veterans of Foreign Wars Award: Katie White

Military Officers Association of America Award: Ashton Darley

The Military Order of the World Wars Award: Christian Perez

Reserve Officers Association Award: Gage Kempton

American Veterans Award: Matthew Godby

Daughters of the American Revolution Award: Shelbi Reynolds

American Legion Military Excellence Award: Luke Whitley

American Legion Scholastic Award: Neel Patel

Daedalian Award: Jonathan Farrington

Outstanding Cadets:

First Year Cadet – Daisy May Newsome

Second Year Cadet – Zachary Godwin

Third Year Cadet – Logan Spooner

Fourth Year Cadet – Neel Patel

Oak Murdock Patriot’s Award: Matthew Godby

Distinguished AFJROTC Cadet Award: Logan Spooner

Air Force Association Award: Shelbi Reynolds

Top Performers Award: Logan Spooner

Individual Drill Regulation: Jonathan