Barber wins state grand champion beef heifer award

Published 3:35 pm Friday, April 5, 2019

Decatur County FFA member Taylor Barber was honored during the Georgia Farm Bureau Evening of Champions held March 29 in Macon. Barber was recognized for winning the Grand Champion Beef Heifer Award at the 2019 Georgia Junior National Livestock Show held Feb. 22 in Perry.

Barber, a senior at Bainbridge High School, was one of nine livestock exhibitors the GFB Foundation for Agriculture honored for winning grand champion prizes at state 4-H & FFA livestock shows during the 2018/2019 show season. The GFB Foundation for Agriculture presented Barber with a $2,500 prize, a commemorative photo board and a grand champion belt buckle for winning the market steer show.

“Georgia Farm Bureau has been a long-time sponsor of the 4-H and FFA programs,” GFB President Gerald Long said. “It’s a privilege for Georgia Farm Bureau to sponsor Taylor’s awards and support all of the livestock champions at the Georgia Junior National Livestock Show as an investment in the future of Georgia agriculture. Showing livestock teaches students responsibility and leadership skills while they make lifelong friends.”

Email newsletter signup

Barber, the daughter of Jeff and Leslie Barber of Brinson, has shown livestock for 14 years. She has shown hogs and cattle through the years. This is the fourth grand championship award Taylor has won at the Georgia Junior National Livestock Show. She won the grand champion award for market barrow in 2013 and 2017 and the grand champion market steer award in 2018.

Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau advocates for the men and women who produce our food and fiber. GFB offers its members a wide variety of member benefits, including insurance, but enrollment in any of the benefits is not a requirement for membership.

The GFB Foundation for Agriculture is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) corporation. Donations are tax-exempt. The foundation funds activities and educational materials that increase the agricultural literacy of Georgia residents.