BPS honors officers for outstanding 2018 service at awards banquet

Published 3:34 pm Friday, February 22, 2019

Bainbridge Public Safety held its Annual Awards Banquet on Tuesday, awarding a variety of officers for their work over the past year.

Officer Jason Barlow was honored with the department’s highest award, the 2018 Public Safety Officer of the Year. This award is given to the officer who embodies high moral character and demonstrates commendable performance in areas of police work, and more importantly, strives to help the community in which he serves to grow and flourish. 

Also honored with a special departmental award was Officer LaDaric Jones as the 2018 Public Safety Rookie of the Year. This award is given to the officer or firefighter who has been with the department for a short period of time but has shown exceptional service and dedication to his profession. 

Email newsletter signup

Engineer Jeff Kelly was recognized with the 2018 Police/Fire Commendation for his performance resulting in improved operations and outstanding community service.

Sergeant Tim McCain was recognized as the recipient of the 2018 Top Gun Award for his top shooting score within the department. McCain also has the highest average in patrol rifle qualifications.

During the evening, Captain Terry Pait, Officer Maria Bonilla, Officer Richard Collins, Officer LaDaric Jones, and Officer Jason Barlow were recognized with Life Saving Commendations. These officers contributed to the saving of a person’s life while working incidents which occurred during the 2018 year. 

Additional recognitions were given to Officer Jamie Marshburn, Officer Mike Prindle, and Investigator Davina Thomas for becoming certified as Field Training Officers.  Investigator Mark Esquivel was recognized for becoming certified as an Instructor by the Georgia Peace Officers Standards and Training Council. 

Years of Service pins were distributed to Officer Tarow Barney and Officer/Engineer Nick Godwin for 2 years of service, Officer/Engineer Chuck Strickland for 5 years of service, Captain Ryan Deen for 10 years of service, Investigator Mark Esquivel for 15 years of service, and Sergeant David Cutchin for 30 years of service. 

Angela Tyus, who practices as a Nurse Practitioner with Memorial Hospital and Manor, was also present at the banquet, and was recognized with a plaque for her medical advice and assistance to the Public Safety Department throughout the year.