Runoff set for Dec. 4

Published 3:13 pm Friday, November 30, 2018

A statewide runoff is set for Tuesday, Dec. 4, to determine who will be the next Georgia Secretary of State and who will serve on a Public Service Commission seat.

The runoff election for Secretary of State will be against Democrat John Barrow and Republican Brad Raffensperger. The winner on Dec. 4 will succeed Gov.-elect Brian Kemp.

The race for the Public Service Commission is against incumbent Chuck Eaton, a Republican, and Democrat Lindy Miller.

Email newsletter signup

Registered voters who voted or didn’t vote in the General Election may vote in the Runoff Election.

The polling locations will remain unchanged from the Nov. 6th General Election. So, voters in the Coliseum precinct should go to the Kirbo Center at Southern Regional Technical College at 2500 E. Shotwell St., and voters in the Climax precinct must go to the Climax City Hall at 105 Drane St. Voters in the other seven precincts – Attapulgus, Brinson, Fairgrounds, Kendrick, Mount Pleasant, Recovery and West Bainbridge – will return to their normal polling locations.

Each voter must present a valid photo ID in order to vote on the DREs or they may vote a provisional ballot; however, that provisional voter may return to the Elections Office at 122 W. Water St. by Dec. 7 with a valid form of photo ID for the ballot to count.

The deadline to have registered to vote in the runoff was Oct. 9.