Anderson, Stephens win county commissioner races, Climax gets Sunday alcohol sales

Published 9:44 pm Tuesday, November 6, 2018

George Anderson (I) won the race for Decatur County Commissioner, District 1, and Pete Stephens (I) was elected to Decatur County Commissioner, District 6, Tuesday.

Anderson received 59.99 percent of votes, with his opponent, Jim Meredith (R), tallying 39.99 percent of votes. Stephens took 56.68 percent, while his opponent Oliver Sellers took 43.24 percent.

Decatur County Commissioner Rusty Davis ran unopposed for the District 4 seat.

Email newsletter signup

Sunday alcohol sales were given a “yes” by voters, with 52.88 percent voting in favor of the referendum.

As of press time Tuesday night, Brian Kemp (R) led Stacey Abrams (D) in the Georgia Gov. race with 60.88 percent of votes. Kemp won in Decatur County, tallying just over 60 percent of the votes. Geoff Duncan (R) led Sarah Riggs Amico (D) in the Lt. Gov. race with 61.95 percent of votes.

Brad Raffensperger (R) led in the Secretary of State race against John Barrow (D) with 58.26 percent of the votes. Gary Black was winning the Commissioner of Agriculture race with 62.03 percent and Jim Beck was lead in the Commissioner of Insurance race with 59.7 percent.

Richard Woods (R) was beating Otha E. Thornton, Jr. (D) in the State School Superintendent race and Mark Butler (R) was beating Richard Keatley (D) in the Commissioner of Labor race.

Darlene Taylor (R) was winning the State House 173 race with 56 percent of the votes against Twitty Titus (D). Taylor won Decatur County 63.62-36.35.

The State Seat 11 seat with Dean Burke (I) and the State House 171 seat with Jay Powell (I) both ran unopposed.

Statewide, Sanford Bishop (I) was beating Herman West, Jr., 54.3-45.7. West won Bainbridge with 57 percent of the votes.

A total of 9,067 votes were cast out of 15,201 registered voters.