Chamber seeks Ag Man and Woman of the Year nominations by Sept. 28

Published 2:56 pm Friday, August 17, 2018

Agriculture has a tremendous impact on our local economy and the Bainbridge-Decatur County Chamber of Commerce is preparing to celebrate this industry on November 9.  We are looking forward to the opportunity to recognize our local farmers for the food and fiber they produce.

The 17th annual Ag Luncheon will feature a keynote speaker, a great meal, and a program, but the highlight of the event is recognizing an outstanding Ag Man and Ag Woman for their contributions to Decatur County agriculture.  There have been many distinguished and deserving recipients of these awards over the years. 

Past Ag Man recipients include: Hubert Dollar, Tommy Wheeler, Robert Humphrey, Marvin Rentz, Eddie McGriff, Alvin Newton, Dr. Oscar Jackson, Keith Griffin, Jud Greene, Glenn Heard, Willis Berry, Andy Bell, John Bridges, Sr., John Bridges, Jr., Charles Bailey, Greg Calhoun, Tommy Dollar, Kim Rentz, Clifford Dollar, Jr., Douglas Dean, Jerry Long, Russell Day, Alan Davis, Harold Barber, J.B. Kendrick and Dale and Greg Murray, Robert M. Cohen, and Paul Digby. 

Email newsletter signup

Past Ag Woman recipients include: Lillian Griffin, Jo Smith, Sybil Mills, Leslie Barber, Debby Braswell, Carolyn Bridges, Frances Edmunds, Janice Long, Ruth Day, Lindsay Hayes, Diane Stuart, Kathy Hornsby, Anita Kendrick, Waldine Scott, Emma Jean Bell, and Kathy Smith.

The Chamber of Commerce is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Ag Man and Ag Woman recipients.  To be considered as a candidate for the award, a nominee should be an outstanding leader in the field of agriculture in Decatur County with proven contributions to the agricultural industry and community.  Nominations will be accepted from the general public.  Please contact the Chamber office at 246-4774 for a nomination form or downloaded a form from the Chamber’s website  The nomination deadline is September 28, 2018.