SRTC appoints Marjorie Mayfield to Board of Directors

Published 3:08 pm Friday, August 3, 2018

Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) President Dr. Craig Wentworth is pleased to announce the addition of Mrs. Marjorie Mayfield to the SRTC Board of Directors. Mayfield was sworn in by TCSG State Board Member and Senior Judge of the Superior Courts of Georgia, Richard (Dick) Porter, at the July 26, 2018 Board of Directors meeting and will serve SRTC for a term of three years. 

“I am excited to have Mrs. Mayfield join our SRTC Board of Directors as a new member from Decatur County.  In her role as Chief Operating Officer for Burke, Worsham & Harrell, LLC, she has a wealth of knowledge of local and business and industry and a high level of energy and enthusiasm for improving southwest Georgia.  She currently serves or has been a past participant in Leadership Decatur, Bainbridge-Decatur United Way, Southwest Georgia Employer Committee, Rotary, Society of Human Resources Management, and the First United Methodist Church. I look forward to experiencing first-hand her professionalism, vision, creativity, and resourcefulness. I believe she will be an excellent board member and advocate for our College,” commented Dr. Wentworth.

The Board’s purpose is to advise the College on program direction, serve as a check and balance for the development and implementation of College goals, objectives, policies and procedures, and advocate for SRTC within the community. Each local board member is selected and approved by the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia.

Email newsletter signup

“I am excited to have this opportunity to serve SRTC as a member of the Board of Directors. Education and workforce development are vitally important to sustainable economic growth in and around Bainbridge and Decatur County, and this opportunity allows me to have a direct impact on both of those channels. I am looking forward to learning more about technical education and supporting SRTC as they enhance their partnership with Decatur County and its residents,” stated Mayfield.

Mayfield has served in her role as Chief Operations Officer at Burke, Worsham & Harrell, LLC. since 2013. In this position she is responsible for the development, implementation, and management of an operating plan that achieves the firm’s overall strategic objectives and vision. She previously served as Human Resources Director for the Decatur County Board of Commissioners, and in various roles with the American Cancer Society from 1998 – 2007. She is a graduate of Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College with a degree in Computer Science Technology.

In a corresponding announcement, SRTC also announced Mr. Eric Hughes will replace outgoing Chairwoman Mrs. Ellen Eaton and the conclusion of her current term. Hughes has been a member of the SRTC Board of Directors since 2016. He currently serves as the Vice President of Colony Bank in Ashburn, Georgia and is a resident of Turner County.  Hughes was also recently named to the Governor’s Workforce Development Board.

Other local SRTC board members are: Dr. Sabrina Boykins-Everett of Thomas County, Mr. Jim Carter of Thomas County, Ms. Ellen Eaton of Tift County, Ms. Kim Gilman of Worth County, Mr. Lewis Herndon of Colquitt County, Ms. Lynn Lovett of Tift County, Ms. Katrina McIntosh of Colquitt County, Mr. Don Sims of Thomas County, Dr. Bonita Richter White of Mitchell County, and Ms. Mesha Wind of Grady County.

SRTC offers over 150 degree, diploma, and certificate programs that are designed to get you quickly into your desired career, and 27 general education courses that transfer to the University System of Georgia institutions and 19 private colleges and universities in Georgia. SRTC has instructional sites located in Ashburn, Cairo, Camilla, Moultrie, Thomasville, Tifton, and Sylvester for the convenience of our students. The College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). SACSCOC is the regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in the Southern states. For the most up-to-date information on registration, class dates, and program offerings, log on to or call (888) 205 – 3449. 

Fall Semester 2018 Begins August 21st. Don’t wait, enroll today!