Bainbridge Lions Club holds its annual awards banquet at Bainbridge Country Club

Published 3:22 pm Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Bainbridge Lions Club treasurer and secretary Mike Miller won the prestigious Lion of year and Melvin Jones Fellowship awards, highlighting Wednesday’s awards day celebration meeting at Bainbridge Country Club.

Lion of the year Miller joined the Bainbridge Lions Club in July 2010 and was sponsored by Lion Jim Beck. The Melvin Jones Fellowship, the highest and most prestigious honor a Lion can receive, is named for the founder of Lions International.

Presenting that prestigious award to Miller was Brenda Arnold of the Moultrie Lions Club, who is second Vice District Governor of Lions District 18-0 and will become first Vice District Governor on July 1.

Email newsletter signup

Miller, who from the beginning was very involved in all Lions community projects, is a past member of the club’s board of directors and has served as club secretary the past six years. Outgoing club president Adele Cunningham said that his professionalism in his capacity of club secretary has gained the respect of all his fellow Lions members.

Outgoing club president Cunningham said Lions have assisted many organizations throughout the year, including the Friendship House of Jesus, the Decatur County Senior Center, Leader Dogs For the Blind, and the Georgia Lions Camp For The Blind.

Incoming Lions Club president Michael Jarrett received the club gavel from outgoing president Cunningham.

In addition to president Jarrett club officers installed Wednesday were first vice president Stephen Whittaker, second vice president and Lion Tamer Jason Williams, third vice president Edward Seabrooks, secretary and treasurer Mike Miller, tail twister Tuffy Nussbaum, chaplain and two-year director Bruce Mann, one year directors Wanda Williams and Jim Beck.