Memorial Hospital makes annual employee recognitions

Published 3:27 pm Friday, May 11, 2018

Memorial Hospital and Manor employees celebrated National Hospital and Nurse Week Thursday with a Hawaiian luau theme barbecue picnic on the grounds, followed by the annual recognition of exemplary employees for their service to the hospital and the community.

Tables were set up under the shade trees on the front lawn, along with bleacher seating for those attending the awards ceremonies.

As award winners were announced by Lee Harris of Support Services, they came forward to receive their awards and congratulations from Memorial Hospital and Manor CEO Jim Lambert, Hospital Chief of Staff, Winston Price, M.D. and Authority President, Glennie Bench.

Email newsletter signup

The coveted annual Julia C. Rogers Excellence in Service Award was presented to Leigh Ann Taylor. Leigh Ann is described as,“An exemplary, totally awesome employee. She is our Lab Manager. She is a very hard worker who leads from the middle of the team because she is always helping out. She is a Medical Technologist who has the sweetest disposition and a wealth of clinical knowledge.  She is very deserving of the Julia C. Rogers.”

The Rogers award has been given annually since 1990 in honor of the late Mrs. Julia C. Rogers, a Memorial Hospital and Manor nurse whose compassion and commitment touched patients as well as employees.

Service awards were announced in several categories. Physician of the Year was Pediatrician, Dr. Matthew D. Buck; David Kelley was recognized for his team effort skills, while The Bridge Champion Award went to Karen Williams.

Joellyn Lott was given the Superior Service Award for her outstanding work ethic. Jimmy Sanders was recognized for Ancillary Service, Janice Moore for Nursing Service, Victoria Shilo in long term care Nursing; Kyle Kelley in Physician Services, Willie Washington for Support Services. Mark Smith was announced as the winner of the Community Service award; Latasha Powell was noted for her Congeniality. There were two winners for the Horizon award given to an employee who has been at the hospital or manor less than a year, but has proven an ability to look ahead. Co-winners of that award were Sequanna Scott and Felecia Johnson.

Recognition for years of employment were given first to 28 who have been employed at the hospital and/or manor for five years, followed by 13 recipients of the 10 year award.

Four employees were awarded 15 year pins; six for 20 years; eight who served 25 years; four for 30 years and one individual, Gwendolyn Morris, was recognized for her 40 years of service at the Manor.