Bainbridge Junior ROTC celebrates successful year at awards banquet

Published 4:11 pm Friday, May 4, 2018

The Bainbridge High School Junior ROTC program held its 2018 annual awards banquet Tuesday night in the BHS cafeteria, where dozens of young cadets received awards and honors for an outstanding year.

Jalen Campbell was named the new GA-942 AF JRTOC Commander, replacing senior Haydn Griffin.

Griffin was given the American Legion Scholastic Award, the Oaks Murdock Patriot’s Award and the Top Performer’s Award.

Email newsletter signup

The most improved cadets were freshman James Griffin, sophomore Greyson Dean, junior Neel Patel and senior Curtiss Watson.

The most outstanding cades were Gage Vulgamore (ASI), Logan Spooner (ASII), Jalen Campbell (ASIII) and Haydn Griffin (ASIV).

The Fitness Awards were named to freshman Nyla Dumas, sophomore Jonathon Layerd, junior Peyton Strange and senior Haydn Griffin.

Logan Spooner was awarded the Air Force Association Award, Daedalian Award and the Colonel John Spencer Wilkins Humanitarian Award. Campbell was given the Distinquished AFJROTC Cadet Badge and awarded the Military Officers Association of America Award.

Damien Scott received the American Legion Military Excellence Award, Stefan Farmer was given the Daughters of the American Revolution Award, Katie Thomas was awarded the American Veterans Award, Rodrecuz Holland received the Reserve Officers Association Award and Matthew Godby was awarded the Military Order of the World Wars Award.

Zachariah Frazier was given the Veterans of Foreign Wars Award, Jonathon Layerd earned the National Sojourners Award, Neel Patel was given the Sons of the American Revolution Award and the Air Commando Association Award, Johnathan Farrington was given the Scottish Rite, Southern Juristiction Award, Christian Peres-Salas earned the Military Order of the Purple Heart Award and Curtiss Watson received the Air Force Sergeants Association Award.

Ashton Darley received the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil Ward Award, Kati White was given the Sons of Confederate Veterans – H.L. Hunley Award, Shawna Washington and Luke Whitley received the Tuskegee Airman, Inc. honor, Cassie Roland was given the Retired Enlisted Association Award, Xavier Scott received the Celebrate Freedom Foundation Award and A’Nanda Wilson was given the National Society United States Daughters of 1812 award.