Monday is start of advance voting for May 22 Primary

Published 3:26 pm Friday, April 27, 2018

Advance voting for the May 22nd Primary/Nonpartisan General Election begins Monday, April 30.

Advance voting will continue Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., concluding on Friday, May 18. There is also a Saturday of advance voting on May 12, which the hours for that Saturday are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Locations for advance voting are the Fairgrounds polling location at 1211 Vada Road and the Elections Office at the Courthouse Annex at 122 W. Water St.

Email newsletter signup

On Election Day on May 22, voters go to their assigned polling locations.

At stake for this election are the Democratic and Republican nominees for governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, commissioner of insurance, state school superintendent, commissioner of labor, two Public Service commissioners, and a nonpartisan judgeship for the Court of Appeals in Georgia. Some of these nomination races may end up being decided in the July 24th Runoff Election.

There are also several candidates on the ballot that are uncontested for the primary but will face opposition in the Nov. 6th General Election.

The only contested race in Decatur County that will be decided on May 22 is the District 6 Board of Education seat being vacated by Jacky Grubbs.

If you would like to review your specific sample ballots, go to My Voter Page. This website has links to specific candidates’ websites where voters may learn more about those running for public office.

Also on My Voter Page, voters can locate their Election Day precinct or Advance Voting locations and hours and complete a form for an absentee ballot.

Voters who mark on their request for an absentee ballot that they are 65 years old or older, or have a disability, will automatically receive a mail-in absentee ballot for this May 22 Primary/Nonpartisan Election, as well as the July 24 Runoff and the Nov. 6 General Election. Please be sure to also mark which ballot you want, such as Democratic, nonpartisan or Republican. Note all nonpartisan races will be on the Democratic and Republican ballots.