SRTC Foundation awards more than $42K in scholarships for spring semester

Published 4:08 pm Friday, January 12, 2018

For Spring Semester 2018, which began on January 8th, the Southern Regional Technical College (SRTC) Foundation awarded 69 scholarships totaling over $42,000 to SRTC students. These funds assist students with education related costs such as tuition, fees, clinical scrubs, dissection kits, books, and much more.

SRTC is consolidating with Bainbridge State College and Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College this year.

“The SRTC Foundation is proud to offer so many scholarships each semester. Scholarships provide financial support to students who need assistance with tuition, books, and other fees. By offering more scholarships for students, the Foundation and the College hope to improve the job skills, technical training, and educational level of the citizens of the community.  These funds are only made available because of the generosity of our donors. We sincerely thank and appreciate each of you. Without you, many of our students would not be able to afford books, tuition, or program related supplies,” commented Amy Maison, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Marketing and Public Relations.

Email newsletter signup

The students who received scholarships included: Angelie Alderman – Colquitt County Student, Peggy Bartee – Albert and Esther Thomson, Michelle Beard – Albert and Esther Thomson, Colby Bearden – Gap, Chandler Bearden – Worth County Student, Sarah Bennett – Gap and Tift County Student, Julie Bentley – Albert and Esther Thomson and Sabal Trail, Engla Carter – Albert and Esther Thomson, Sara Castillo – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Sabal Trail, and William Howard Flowers and Maury Tice Flowers/Archbold Medical Center, Emily Castleberry – Grady County Student and Growing Nurses Recruitment, Deja Chaney – Albert and Esther Thomson, Katherine Clark – Turner County Student, Sha’Kayla Coleman – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Macey Conger – Albert and Esther Thomson, Hill-Harrell, and Sabal Trail, Shauna Crosby – Lillie Jackson Gregory Memorial, Raven Crown – Bill and Lillian Raney, Justess Davis – Mitchell County Student, Kaitlyn Douglas – Sabal Trail, Peyton Elrod – Gap, Stacy Green – Albert and Esther Thomson, Melanie Green – Mitchell County Student, Jerrod Hampton – Red Hill Radiology, Suzannah Heald – Thomas County Student, Bailee Hiers – Grady County Student and Growing Nurses Recruitment, Ashley Hornsby – Grady County Student, Stephanie Jimenez – Albert and Esther Thomson, Leonyne Leach – Albert and Esther Thomson, Joshua May – Hill-Harrell, Red Hills Radiology and Thomas County Student, and Red Hills Radiology, Yvonne McKay – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Bailey Merritt – Kathryn Read, Alyson Peters – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Colby Ponder – Mitchell County Student, Alison Powell – Thomas County Student and William Howard Flowers and Maury Tice Flowers/Archbold Medical Center, Tamara Rinck – Growing Nurses Recruitment and William Howard Flowers and Maury Tice Flowers/Archbold Medical Center, Hana Scarborough – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Franklin Scudder – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Sabal Trail, and William Howard Flowers and Maury Tice Flowers/Archbold Medical Center, Guadalupe Serna – Albert and Esther Thomson, Makenzie Smith – Grady County Student, Meagan Smith – Culbreth Legacy, Hill-Harrell, and Sabal Trail, Frances Studdard – Sabal Trail, Mary Thompson – Growing Nurses Recruitment and Colquitt County Student, Mary Trawick – Gap, Devin Tudor – Hill-Harrell, Thomas County Student, Carlene Viohl – Colquitt County Student, Sundair Walden – Albert and Esther Thomson, Jeremy Walker – Debbie Griffiths, Hill-Harrell, and Non-Traditional Student, Kristine Whitted – Growing Nurses Recruitment, Tiffany Williams – Hill-Harrell, and April Wood – Sabal Trail.

The SRTC Foundation is a non-profit corporation whose mission is to promote the cause of higher education and expand educational opportunities to the students of SRTC. The Foundation strives to create scholarships and endowments and assist in the financing of capital improvements and other college-related expenses. A few of the scholarships offered and awarded this semester were:

The Non-Traditional Scholarship was established to encourage enrollment in and completion of a technical certificate of credit, diploma, or degree in a field typically considered gender-specific. Non-traditional occupations are careers in which less than 25 percent of a gender is represented in the workforce. These careers often pay higher salaries, include challenging work, offer opportunities to develop new skills, and possess the possibility of advancement potential.

The county-specific scholarships were designed to help students from SRTC’s seven county service delivery area, consisting of Colquitt, Grady, Mitchell, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth counties.

For more information on scholarships, how to give, and how to apply, please visit or contact the Institutional Advancement Office at (229) 227-2415.