Qualifying for elections begins in March

Published 4:15 pm Friday, January 12, 2018

Three seats on the Decatur County Board of Education and three seats on the Decatur County Board of Commissioners will be open for qualifying on Monday, March 5.

Qualifying will begin that Monday at 9 a.m. and wrap up at noon on Friday, March 9.

The seats open for election on the Board of Education are District 2, currently held by Keith Lyle, District 3, currently held by Winston Rollins, and District 5, currently held by Bobby Barber. These are non-partisan races. Qualifying fees for each of these races is $54.

Email newsletter signup

The seats open for election on the Decatur County Board of Commissioners are District 1, currently held by George Anderson, District 4, currently held by Rusty Davis, and District 6, currently held by Pete Stephens. The qualifying fee for the Board of Commissioners is $216.

The State Court Solicitor General is also open for election. The qualifying fee is $1,498.84.

The Decatur County Board of Commissioner and Solicitor General races are partisan. Candidates will need to decide which party they want to run under.

Qualifying for Republican Party and non-partisan races will be at the Board of Elections Office, located at the Courthouse Annex at 122 W. Water St. in downtown Bainbridge. Qualifying fees for all non-partisan and Republican Party races must be paid with personal or cashier check or money order. No cash can be accepted at the Elections Office.

Qualifying for Democratic Party candidates will be in the back lobby of the Decatur County Administrative Offices located at 203 W. Broughton St. in Bainbridge. Qualifying fees for candidates in theĀ Democratic Party may pay with personal or cashier check, cash or money order.

The Primary/General Nonpartisan/Special Election is Tuesday, May 22. Advance voting for it will begin on Monday, April 30, with a mandatory Saturday voting on May 12. The registration deadline is Tuesday, April 24.

The general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 6. Advance voting begins on Oct. 15, and Saturday voting is Oct. 27.