Bainbridge State names GOAL and RPA winners

Published 10:30 am Thursday, November 30, 2017

By Susanne Reynolds

On Tuesday, Nov. 28, Bainbridge State College named Electronics Technology student Keith Merritt of Bainbridge its 2017 GOAL Winner, and Owen Elkins, Instructor of Electronics, the 2017 Rick Perkins Award Winner.

Being named the GOAL student at the local level is an honor for Health Sciences and Professional Studies (HSPS) students.

Email newsletter signup

The overall objective of the GOAL program is to stimulate the community’s interest in and knowledge of technical education by recognizing outstanding student talent as well as strengthening the association between educators and the business community.

The following students were nominated for GOAL: Keith Merritt of Bainbridge, Rosalyn Parris of Bainbridge, Christopher Haught of Bainbridge and Kaleb Bentley of Pelham.

Keith Merritt will represent BSC for the 2017-2018 academic year.

The Rick Perkins Award (RPA) for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors technical education’s most outstanding instructors. It has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

Perkins winners are selected at each of the state’s technical colleges. This year Owen Elkins will represent BSC.

Next year both winners will compete at the regional and state level.