Deadline to register to vote in Nov. 7 election is Oct. 10

Published 4:50 pm Thursday, October 5, 2017

Tuesday, Oct. 10, is the deadline to register to vote for the Nov. 7 Special Called and General Municipal Election.

This election has the Special Called Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax question and the City of Bainbridge contested Ward A city council seat that will determine who fills the vacant seat of the late Councilman Joe Sweet.

Sample ballots are available at the Elections Office, located at the Courthouse Annex at 122 W. Water St. Also, there is a district map of the City of Bainbridge at the Elections Office if you would like to view it.

Email newsletter signup

You must be an elector in Ward A to vote in the race between Jacob A. Gilstrap and Derik B. McDowell. To determine if you are a voter in Ward A, you may go to the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page and look up what district you live in the City of Bainbridge, or call the Elections Office if you have a question.

All county voters are eligible to vote on the TSPLOST question, which reads: “Shall a special one percent sales and use tax be imposed in the special district consisting of Decatur County for a period of time not to exceed five years and for the raising of not more than an estimated amount of $24,000,000 for transportation purposes?”

Details on proposed TSPLOST projects and purchases from the county and each of the municipalities are on the county’s webpage under “County News” with a link to the resolution and exhibits.

If you would like to have a ballot mailed to you for this election, you must apply for a mail-in ballot. Those applications are available on the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page, on the Elections Office page on the county’s website,, or by calling the Elections Office at 243-2087.

On Nov. 7, all nine county polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Advance voting begins on Monday, Oct. 16. It continues Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 28, will also have advance voting from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Advance voting ends on Friday, Nov. 3.

Advance voting takes place at the Fairgrounds Chamber Building at 122 Vada Road and at the Elections Office at the Courthouse Annex at 122 W. Water St.