Qualifying begins in Decatur County

Published 5:32 pm Tuesday, August 22, 2017

As of Tuesday, only four people have qualified for the municipal elections that will be on the ballot come Election Day on Nov. 7.

Each of the four qualifiers are incumbents for their respective seats.

Bainbridge Mayor Edward Reynolds, At Large Post 1 Bainbridge councilwoman Glennie Bench, District B Post 3 Bainbridge councilman Phil Long and Climax Mayor Charles Hadsock have qualified.

Email newsletter signup

Qualifying ends Friday, Aug. 25, at 4:30 p.m.

The following are the seats and qualifying fees for each municipality in Decatur County:

Bainbridge – There are three Aldermen seats and Mayor’s seat up for election this year: Seat 2, District A, which is the late Councilmember Joe Sweet’s seat; and Seat 3, District B, which is currently held by Phil Long; Seat 1, At Large, which is currently held by Glennie Bench and the Mayor, which Edward Reynolds currently is. The qualifying fee an Alderman seat is $90. The qualifying fee for Mayor is $171.

Brinson – Two Council seats are up for election this year, which are the seats currently held by Tom Powell and Hardy Powell. The qualifying fee is $43.20.

Climax – The Mayor and two Council seats are up for election this year. Charles Hadsock is the current Mayor, and Bob Jones and Denis Bishop are the two current council members up for re-election. The qualifying fee for Mayor is $25 and the Council seats are $20.

Attapulgus – No elections.

All county voters are eligible to vote in the Nov. 7 election because of the proposed one-cent Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (T-SPLOST).

The registration deadline for the Nov. 7 election is Tuesday, Oct. 10.

Advance voting will be from Monday, Oct. 16, to Friday, Nov. 3, at the Courthouse Annex at 122 W. Water St. or at the Fairgrounds located at 1211 Vada Highway. Polls will be open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and possibly on Saturday, Oct. 28, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

All nine precincts are scheduled to be open on Election Day, Nov. 7, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

If you would like to have a ballot mailed to you, please contact the Elections office and request an application. You may request an application at Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter Page, on a link at Decatur County’s webpage — www.decaturcountyga.gov – and follow the link to the Elections Office’s page. The absentee ballot application is below the video on how to correctly submit your ballot.

For more information, please call the Board of Elections and Voter Registration at (229) 243-2087.