PAGE Foundation awards S. Marvin Griffin Academic scholarships

Published 3:58 pm Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Early Childhood Education majors Anna Lee Atwater at the University of Georgia and Sydney Grace Oden at Shorter University are this year’s recipients of the S. Marvin Griffin Memorial Foundation Scholarships. These scholarships are given annually through the Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) Foundation to outstanding students who aspire to become teachers. Atwater is a resident of Tifton, GA, and Oden is a resident of Acworth, GA.

These scholarships are awarded to outstanding students based on academic achievement and demonstrated good citizenship. The awards are made available through the PAGE Foundation from donations to the S. Marvin Griffin Memorial Foundation, which is endowed by friends of the late Georgia governor. S. Marvin Griffin was governor of Georgia from 1955 to 1959. A former educator at Randolph-Macon Academy in Virginia, Griffin was also owner and editor of the Post-Searchlight newspaper in Bainbridge, GA.

Each year PAGE awards more than $15,000 in scholarships to aspiring and experienced Georgia educators. “Supporting individuals dedicated to better prepare themselves to teach our students through the generous gifts of PAGE Foundation donors is rewarding for all of us who are dedicated to improving Georgia’s educator workforce,” said Dr. Allene Magill, PAGE executive director.

Email newsletter signup

As a 501(c)(3) organization, the PAGE Foundation’s core business is fundraising in support of PAGE’s initiatives that provide professional learning, build leadership qualities and enhance professional competence and confidence.