State Driver Services Reminds Motorists of Georgia SUPER SPEEDER Laws

Published 4:42 pm Tuesday, July 18, 2017

In case you haven’t heard, this entire week, the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS) and law enforcement agencies throughout the State of Georgia are teaming up with their counterparts in Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, and Tennessee in “Operation Southern Shield”, a week-long speed prevention and enforcement initiative in each of their respective states on interstates, major highways and local roads.

With Operation Southern Shield well underway, the Department of Driver Services (DDS) would like to take this opportunity to remind motorists of Georgia’s Super Speeder law.

Georgia’s ‘Super Speeder Law’ defines a Super Speeder as a driver convicted of speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph and above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia. 

Email newsletter signup

In addition to the fines and fees paid to the jurisdiction where the speeding offense took place, a $200 Super Speeder state fee is to be paid by the convicted driver to the State of Georgia.

Many customers do not expect this additional state fee which may arrive after local and county citations have been adjudicated.  Failure to pay the Super Speeder fee within 120 days of official notice will result in the suspension of the offender’s license or driving privileges.  Payment of a $50 reinstatement fee, in addition to the $200 Super Speeder fee, will then be required to reinstate their license or driving privileges.

DDS Commissioner Spencer R. Moore added “Please observe the speed limit and practice safe driving habits no matter where you are driving.”

Super Speeder fees can be paid online at