Students and instructors rewards for technical excellence

Published 7:10 pm Friday, January 27, 2017

By Susanne Reynolds

Special to The Post-Searchlight

The Rick Perkins Award and GOAL student ceremony at Bainbridge State College was held on January 19, at the Charles H. Kirbo Regional Center. The ceremony was a humbling experience for the family members of this year’s nominees.

Email newsletter signup

Guest speaker Dr. Stuart Rayfield, Interim President of Bainbridge State College, was welcomed to the stage by the Dean of Health Sciences and Professional Studies (HSPS), Jason Rubenbauer.

Behind the podium, Rayfield expressed her anticipation upon attending the event, she said, “Everyone told me this would be my favorite event, and one of the best experiences at the College.”

She explained the Bainbridge State College’s technical education advantages as having placed faculty and staff in a better position to “work with students to provide a satisfactory education that benefits the students, and their families’ lives.” She felt “honored to be presenting this award,” and stressed the importance of the College’s focus on technical education while helping students solidify the steps that come afterwards.

Since 1991, The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction has acknowledged instructors who provide, through their own ingenuity and ambition, a noteworthy addition to technical education.

Charles Avery of Colquitt, EMT instructor, was selected as the 2017 Rick Perkins Award winner at Bainbridge State College.

Along with the RPA, the GOAL award pays tribute to outstanding students within the technical field. The Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) has been awarded to students who possess true leadership qualities since 1971.

Douglas Tyler Kirksey of Bainbridge was selected as the recipient of the GOAL award for BSC.

“Agriculture was not for me, and I could not get into firefighting,” said Kirksey. “I was happy to find Bainbridge State College because not only is it affordable, but it offers a direct line to a career.”

He thanked faculty members, and his instructor, Owen Elkins, Instructor of Electronics, for the life-changing opportunities.

The 12 nominations were issued on behalf of 7 technical instructors at Bainbridge State College.

The nominees were Derrek Doyle, Stennes Austinson, Douglas Kirksey, William Bundy, Genesis Farias, Marion Tyler, Amanda Dukes, Megan James, Autumn Marchant, Elicia Blackburn, Michelle Luevano and Jesse Steen.

Claude Bell, GOAL coordinator, applauded all nominees for a job well done. Out of the 2,500 students attending Bainbridge State College, only 12 students were nominated for this award.

He referred to the students as “the best of the best,” and declared every one of them “winners.”

Both Avery and Kirksey, will compete at the state level in April.