Cross-country teams celebrate season at annual banquet

Published 5:00 pm Friday, November 18, 2016

From Staff Reports

The Post-Searchlight

The Bainbridge Cross Country Banquet was held on Monday, November 11. The yearly awards were handed out at the banquet and the recipients were named.

Email newsletter signup

The middle school went first and handed out their awards. Nyla Dumas and Titus Porter were named Most Improved Runners. Emma Briggs and Hunter Matthews were named Rookie of the Year. Ashton Matthews and Anna Marie were awarded the Coaches Award. The Most Outstanding Runner awards were given to Aiden Matthews and Viviana Schuyler.

The high school followed and named their winners. Julie Wells and John Willis Maples were named the Most Improved Runners for the varsity. Megan Hyatt and Andru Matthews were varsity Rookies of the Year. The Most Outstanding Runner for the varsity resulted in a tie between Efrain Diaz and Stokes Moore for the male spot, and Uriyah Davis won it for the females.

Awards recognizing personal and academic achievement were also handed out. Wright Cook, Nathaniel Lambert, Hayden Griffin, and Jordan Davis were named Scholar Athletes. The Spirit Award was given to Makayla Ingram. Alaiya Schuyler, Chloe Enfinger, Camry Fillingame, Efrain Daiz, Hayden Griffin took home awards for All Time Personal Records. Last but not least, the DRF1 Award was given to Wright Cook.