Bainbridge Bearcats, Lady Cats swim teams earn first place at Region Meet

Published 4:32 pm Tuesday, February 2, 2016


The Bainbridge Bearcats swim team was crowned Region 1-AAAA Champions last Tuesday after both the boys and girls teams both finished in first place.

“The swimmers set a goal at the beginning of the season and were determined to accomplish that goal,” coach Tracy Poppell said. “Many of our swimmers set new personal records at this meet. Their hard work in the pool this season paid off.”

Email newsletter signup

Tara Stevens finished first in the 100-meter backstroke and the 200-meter freestyle.

Other individual first place finishers were Caleb Boutwell in the 50-meter free stroke and 100-meter freestyle, Taylor Bush in the 100-meter freestyle, Nour Hasona in the 100-meter backstroke and Carson Harrell in the 100-meter breaststroke.

First place relay finisher were Tara Stevens, Katie Campbell, Haley Helms and Sydney Hutchins in the 200-meter medley.

The team of Tara Stevens, Taylor Bush, Haley Helms and Sydney Hutchings also finished first in the 200-meter free relay.

Dalton Save, Nour Hasona, Chase Harrison and Haydn Griffin finished in first place in the 400-meter free relay. Coming in first for the girls 400-meter free relay was Emilee Chamber, Emilee Poppell, Haylie Wilkinson and Taylor Bush.

Other swimmers contributing to the region championship were Caleb Harris, Dylan Savage, Perry Waddell, Austin Wade, Lauren Braswell, Rendi Harrison, Caitlin Miller, Hope Sizemore, MaryAlice Long, Montanna McQuaig, Alexis Smith, Edward Moorhead, Logan Moorhead, Madison Toole, Alaiya Schulyer, and David Long.

“I am so proud of the efforts of all of our swimmers,” Poppell said. “Every swimmer contributed to the Region Championship.”

This weekend, Feb. 4-6, Bainbridge swimmers will be competing at the Class AAAA State Meet at Georgia Tech in Atlanta.

Tara Stevens qualified for the 200-yard freestyle and the 100-yard backstroke. Sydney Hutchins, Taylor Bush, Haley Helms and Tara Stevens qualified for the 200-yard freestyle relay.