Bearcat football players named to All-Region team

Published 6:51 pm Friday, December 18, 2015

Nine Bainbridge players were named to the All-Sub-Region B Team along with running back Dameon Pierce receiving the Player of the year award, Tyler Storey getting the Offensive Player of the Year award and Jeff Littleton getting the Coach of the Year award.

Pierce rushed for 2,060 yards on 308 carries and scored 33 touchdowns. He also recorded 108 kick return yards with another touchdown. His 34 total touchdowns set the school record for touchdowns in a season.

Storey had 72 receptions for 1,243 yards and eight touchdowns, as well as returning 17 punts for 175 yards. Storey set Bainbridge records in receptions in one game (nine) and receiving yards in one season.

Email newsletter signup

Littleton coached the first Bearcats team to go 10-0 with a Region Championship. The Bearcats continued to set records by winning the first three playoff games against Griffin, Sandy Creek and St. Pius X to improve to 13-0 before losing to Cartersville in the State Class AAAA Semifinals.

Three offensive linemen were named to the Sub-Region B offensive team: junior Ladarius Garnes, junior Christian Glover and senior Russell Wheeler.

Honorable mentions were junior quarterback Brett McLaughlin, junior running back Malique Pate and Curtis Brown.

Bainbridge’s defensive players on the Sub-Region B team are senior lineman Calvin Isom, junior lineman Jordan Flemming, junior linebacker Kerenski Williams, senior linebacker Elsamar Williams, junior defensive back Lerone Broadnax and junior punter Clark Wiggins.

Isom totaled 67 tackles this season with seven for a loss. He also recorded six sacks, 19 quarterback hurries, five forced fumbles and an interception he returned for a touchdown.

Flemming had 51 tackles with 3 quarterback hurries.

Kerenski Williams recorded 105 tackles with 21 for a loss. Elsamar Williams had 90 tackles, nine of them for a loss, and recorded four sacks. He also had three forced fumbles.

Broadnax led the team with 112 tackles, five of them for a loss, and two forced fumbles.

Honorable mentions included Trey Stubbs, Elijah Tyler and Jordan Martin.