Six Bearcats named to All-Region B football team

Published 1:21 pm Tuesday, December 23, 2014

A number of Bainbridge Bearcats were named to the 2014 Region 1-AAAA Sub-Region B Football team.
Making the offensive team were senior wide receiver Victor Bodison and senior offensive lineman Demetrius Edwards.
As a wide receiver, Bodison had 23 receptions for 278 yards, averaging 12.1 yards per reception. His longest reception was 36 yards and he scored one touchdown.
Edwards blocked strongly throughout the season for Bainbridge’s stable of running backs and gave quarterbacks Elijah Tyler and Brett McLaughlin time and room for pass plays.
Making the Sub-region B defense team were junior defensive lineman Calvin Isom, senior defensive lineman Hudson Reynolds, senior linebacker Dalin Mack and sophomore punter Clark Wiggins.
Isom had a total of 37 tackles this season, 34 of them solo. Five of Isom’s tackles were for a loss and he forced two fumbles.
Reynolds had a total of 59 tackles, 56 of them solo. Six of his tackles were for a loss. He also had one solo tackle on special teams.
Mack led the Bearcats defense with 61 tackles for the season, 50 of them solo. Eight of his tackles were for a loss and he forced two fumbles. He also recorded three passes defensed and four tackles on special teams, three of them solo.
Wiggins recorded 49 punts this season totaling 1,630 yards. His average was 33.3 yards per punt, with his longest stretching for 53 yards.
Honorable mentions on offense for the Bearcats were Jalyn Bush, Ladarius Garnes and Tyler Storey. Defensive honorable mentions were Tim Bennett and Jordan Martin.
Others named to the Sub-Region B offensive team are Westover junior quarterback Emory McKenzie, Westover junior running back Qundez Carter, Worth County junior running back Zytavious Anderson, Westover senior wide receiver Jysanti Richardson, Americus-Sumter senior wide receiver Dwight Harris, Worth County junior offensive lineman JeCard Parker, Worth County offensive lineman Alex Hines, Westover junior offensive lineman Jarvis Reid, Americus-Sumter junior offensive lineman Benjamin Walters and Westover junior kicker Leonardo Meira.
Others named to the defense team are Westover senior defensive lineman Detravious Greene, Worth County junior defensive lineman Jamil Curry, Americus-Sumter junior defensive lineman Tyler Clark, Worth County junior linebacker Trey Lucas, Westover senior linebacker Otis Glenn, Dougherty senior defensive back Robert Hicks, Westover junior defensive back Travionte Brown, Americus-Sumter senior defensive back Isaiah Ingram and Worth County junior defensive back Eric Burrows.

Email newsletter signup